pbp 2.60a upgrade


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 31 of 31

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153

    Default pbp 2.60a upgrade

    I just TRIED to upgrade from 2.3 to 2.60a I can't make anything work just errors and this is code that I am using in 2.3

    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.

    ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Warning[207] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\TEST.ASM 116 : Found label after column 1. (DEVICE)
    Error[122] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\TEST.ASM 116 : Illegal opcode (PIC16F628A)
    Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Sun Aug 29 12:15:19 2010

    Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Sun Aug 29 12:15:19 2010

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Looks like you have your configs using the PM way but you are using MPASM fir the assembler.

    Can you post your code and configs to be sure?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default configs

    is this what you want

    @ DEVICE PIC16F628A,HS_OSC,WDT_ON,PWRT_ON,PROTECT_ON
    DEFINE OSC 10

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Yup, those are for PM.
    In MCS under Tools-Compiler Options under the assembler tab you can select PM or MPASM.

    This should also help
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=543
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default config

    Ok looks like I have some reading to do guess I was used to 2.30 with 2.32 beta
    wanted to start using win version but will use pm for now

    Next question programmers I will be needing to upgrade the Picstart plus or getting another programmer $30 to upgrade what would another programmer cost is it as good what parts will it do compared to picstart plus. I guess i can use the picstart with 2.32 in the shop and mplab 3.11 like im doing now.

    larry

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    All you need to do is use configs syntaxed for MPASM.
    Look in the inc file for your chip and you will see both ways.

    Prgrammer.
    I really like the PicKit2.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default screwed up

    I not able to change back to PM . using mplab changed to C:\PBP\PM.EXE from mpasmwin but it keeps using mpasmwin i feel like its the first time I ever done this

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default confused

    Ok looked at 16f628a.inc file now i'm even more confused do you have a header for 16f628 I can look at, I understand the underscore but how do I define the osc speed ? same way? its not in the inc file !and Im seeing lists of config not a single line of configs like in the inc file.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Code:
    @ __config _XT_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
    DEFINE OSC 4
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default no clue

    ok so I changed the defines from this
    @ DEVICE PIC16F628A,HS_OSC,WDT_ON,PWRT_ON,PROTECT_ON

    to this
    @ __config _HS_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
    and now the errors just keep coming

    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "test.bas"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "ltest.bas"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.

    ERROR: Unable to execute mpasmwin.Error[118] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\test.ASM 116 : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)
    Error[118] C:\0 FILES\2MPLAB\test.ASM 116 : Overwriting previous address contents (2007)
    Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 14:44:39 2010

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Looks like you did not comment the config lines in the PBP inc file.
    See the thread I linked to above.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 2.60a

    Looks like you did not comment the config lines in the PBP inc file.

    Dave I have no clue what your talking about this is over my head right now

    I read the thread but got more confused they were talking that the new way didn't work and to do it the old way and 18f parts did work I have no idea what is old and what is new never used the win setup now I know why it never worked for me.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 2.60

    I need to change a file in PBP to make my bas file compile what do I change

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    When setting the configs in code space the inc file in PBP needs commented (

    Go to your PBP directory and find the xxx.inc file for the chip you are using.
    In that file you will see config lines similar to what you are putting in your code.
    Put a ";" at the begining of those lines.

    Or you can modify those lines and not set the configs in code space.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 2.6

    Ok I think Im getting it a little they have already set up a set of configs Im asking for something different and its getting confused so if I change there file to what I want it will work or if I comment it out and put it into my code it will work. what if I want some set value in the inc file and want to add some of it in my code or is it either / or but not both

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default configs

    Yep I guess I get it now i just commented out the line in my program compiled it and it worked still want to know about doing some in code and some in the INC file is that a no no ??

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The chips with one line of configs it is one or the other.
    The chips with multiple lines of configs then you could do a line or two in code and some in the inc, might get hard to keep track of things.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default geez

    ok i started from scratch and used a file in pbp directory this is what I get unable to access file
    OK why
    how can i fix this
    what the He l did i do wrong



    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.

    ERROR: Unable to access file c:\pbp\files\BLINK.O
    Error processing COFF file c:\pbp\files\BLINK.O
    Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 18:32:20 2010

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What version of MPLAB are you using?

    I think 8.15 is the latest that works.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default damm

    I loded the version 8.53 of MPLAB that came on the upgrade disk

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default 2.6

    well maybe not! got this error

    ERROR: Unable to access file C:\0 Files\2Mplab\test.O
    Error processing COFF file C:\0 Files\2Mplab\test.O
    Halting build on first failure as requested.
    BUILD FAILED: Mon Aug 30 15:46:03 2010

  22. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default ?

    ok tried the PBP 2.60a with 5.70.40 mplab and still nothing


    uilding test.BAS...

    Command line: "C:\PBP\PM.EXE -ol -c -p16F628A test.BAS"
    PM Assembler 4.08, Copyright (c) 1995, 2006 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    Flag : Unknown Output Format 'l'
    Flag : Illegal Flag '-p16F628A'
    INTERNAL test.BAS 37 : [407] No Function Handler for 'high'

    MPLAB is unable to find output file "test.hex". This may be due to a compile, assemble, or link process failure.

    Build failed.
    Last edited by l_gaminde; - 31st August 2010 at 22:40.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default ?

    do I need to modify the path or something was told the new version did not need this

  24. #24
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default ok

    after reading I also have this below
    -ampasmwin -k#

    not -ampasmwin -oq -z -v
    will try this first

    should I delete all mplab and pbp2.3 also

  25. #25
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Personally I rename the old PBP directory to OLDxx_PBP then install the new to the default location. That way I still have my changes to check out when needed.
    I always get rid of the older MPLAB.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  26. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default done I think

    well not sure but the bottom line says build succeeded, have new programmer ordered well just see about that.

    Thanks for all your help! I feel better! I was feeling like a real dumb ass only been doing this since 1999!!

    I deleted everything cleaned my registry, did a disk clean and defragged then reinstalled PBP and MPLAB

    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -k# -p16F628A "lcpirser.bas"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Loaded C:\0 Files\2Mplab\lcpirser.COF.
    BUILD SUCCEEDED: Tue Aug 31 15:53:43 2010

  27. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Glad you got it!!!
    Thanks for all your help! I feel better! I was feeling like a real dumb ass only been doing this since 1999!!
    Now you know why I say, once a newbie always a newbie
    No offence...

    We will blame it on windows...
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default blame it on windows

    I can do that

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Paso Robles California
    Posts
    153


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default close

    ok changed the command line to -ampasmwin -oq -z -v and this is what Im getting it looks like it almost worked

    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPMPLAB.BAT" -ampasmwin -oq -z -v -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
    Executing: "C:\PBP\PBPW.EXE" -ampasmwin -oq -z -v -p16F628A "BLINK.BAS"
    PICBASIC PRO(TM) Compiler 2.60A, (c) 1998, 2010 microEngineering Labs, Inc.
    All Rights Reserved.
    Pass 1:
    Pass 2:
    Code Gen:
    Macro Pass:
    mpasmwin /q C:\PBP\Files\BLINK.ASM
    COD Pass:
    BUILD FAILED: Tue Aug 31 15:02:06 2010

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts