Beginner problems with 18F66J50


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164

    Default Beginner problems with 18F66J50

    I'm trying to move beyond my comfort zone chips, the 16F877 and the 18F452, and expand my horizons. So far it is kicking my tail and making me feel like a total n00b. 8^(

    All I'm trying to do is make a pin (any pin!) alternate between high and low. Not even trying to blink an LED, I'm using an oscilloscope. (Blinky will be the next step...)

    I'm using an MELabs Pic Proto80 board with a 2.5V regulator. I'm programming through the PP80's ISCP using an MEL U2 programmer. It appears to be taking the code but nothing whatsoever happens on any of the pins.

    My code is below, and I've attached the schematic and a screenshot of the programmer configuration. I'm at a total loss and I would truly appreciate any helpful guidance in this matter.

    Code:
    define OSC 20
    
    INCLUDE "ALLDIGITAL.pbp"
    
    TRISA = 0
    TRISB = 0
    TRISC = 0
    TRISD = 0
    TRISE = 0
    TRISF = 0
    
    MainLoop:
    	PORTA = 1
    	PORTB = 1
    	PORTC = 1
    	PORTD = 1
    	PORTE = 1
    	PORTF = 1
    	pause 100
    	
    	PORTA = 0
    	PORTB = 0
    	PORTC = 0
    	PORTD = 0
    	PORTE = 0
    	PORTF = 0
    	pause 100
    goto mainloop
    Thanks for reading,
    Paul
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have you tried it with extended instruction set disabled?
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    Have you tried it with extended instruction set disabled?
    I just tried that, still no joy. Thank you, though.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    699


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Have you tried a different "Oscillator Selection"?

    Robert
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsocor01 View Post
    Have you tried a different "Oscillator Selection"?

    Robert
    I've now gone and tried all of them again, this time with extended instruction set disabled. No luck. Thanks for trying.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Miami, Florida USA
    Posts
    699


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prstein View Post
    I've now gone and tried all of them again, this time with extended instruction set disabled. No luck. Thanks for trying.

    Best Regards,
    Paul
    I also see that you don't have a diode in MCRL protecting Vdd from Vpp. From the PIC datasheet, the maximum absolute value that Vdd can take is around 4.5 V. If the programming voltage, Vpp, is greater than 4.5V you might have damaged the PIC by no using a diode.

    I don't see anything else that might be causing problems.

    Robert
    "No one is completely worthless. They can always serve as a bad example."

    Anonymous

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    The drawing also only has half of the OSC connected. But I am sure that is only on the drawing...

    Why not try just for fun, setting the configs not with the programmers software but in the *.inc or code space?

    The settings in the *.inc straight from the install for this chip should have you running with a 20 OSC.

    Then
    DEFINE OSC 48
    Me thinks.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rsocor01 View Post
    I also see that you don't have a diode in MCRL protecting Vdd from Vpp. From the PIC datasheet, the maximum absolute value that Vdd can take is around 4.5 V. If the programming voltage, Vpp, is greater than 4.5V you might have damaged the PIC by no using a diode.

    I don't see anything else that might be causing problems.

    Robert
    Thanks again, Robert. The ISCP is not providing Vdd for the board. Vdd comes from a 2.5V regulator. I verified with a 'scope that Vdd is not changing during programming. I can see the programming data coming in at 5V, but PORTB is 5.5V tolerant.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    The drawing also only has half of the OSC connected. But I am sure that is only on the drawing...

    Why not try just for fun, setting the configs not with the programmers software but in the *.inc or code space?

    The settings in the *.inc straight from the install for this chip should have you running with a 20 OSC.

    Then
    DEFINE OSC 48
    Me thinks.
    Thanks for catching the error in the schematic, but as you surmised the resonator is indeed connected.

    I don't alter the inc file because I have no luck figuring out what they should be, at least in this case. I'm happy to try most anything to get this to work...

    I tried adding the define (and also several sets of configuration settings), with the same negative result.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Solved

    Thanks to everyone who replied. You were all headed in the right direction. Turned out to be the beta MELabs U2 programming software. For some reason it wasn't picking up the settings in the .inc file. I went back to the earlier version of the programmer software (and had to copy 18F66J50.inc to that folder--not supporting that chip was why I tried the beta download) and everything worked fine.

    Now knowing the proper programmer settings I tried the beta again, still wouldn't work. I guess I should report a bug to MEL.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    COOL!

    Have you tried setting the configs in code space? Might be a work-around.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/cont...o-your-Program
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Robert mentioned an important point about the protection diode - I would also take into consideration. It may work for a while, then just fail, if you don't add that diode. It's well worth the expense. Just FYI.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    COOL!

    Have you tried setting the configs in code space? Might be a work-around.
    http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/cont...o-your-Program
    Thanks Dave. Now that I can start running with this project I will certainly do that.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    USA, New England
    Posts
    164


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce View Post
    Robert mentioned an important point about the protection diode - I would also take into consideration. It may work for a while, then just fail, if you don't add that diode. It's well worth the expense. Just FYI.
    I know better than to ignore advice from The Bruce! Consider it added.

    Best Regards,
    Paul

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts