Skip incoming bytes in SERIN


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68

    Default Skip incoming bytes in SERIN

    Hi Guys,

    Could someone advise please how can I skip some bytes when read a stream using SERIN? The chip I use does not support serin2 or hserin and it's program memory is too small, but I noticed that skipping bytes by using something like
    SERIN PORT,MODE,["CHAR"],BYTE,BYTE,BYTE,BYTE,BYTE,BYTE,BYTE,BYTE
    uses too much program memory for skipping bytes. Is there a better way?

    Thank you,
    Alexey

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Welcome to the forum.

    The chip I use does not support serin2 or hserin
    What chip are you using?
    It may not have a USART but I can not think why SERIN2 would not work on any chip.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Mackrackit,

    Thank you.

    It is PIC16HV540.

    it has only 512 words of program memory, 25 bytes or RAM (enough for only three variables) and nothing else. BUT it is 15 volt chip including full 8 bit 15 volt port B (actually I use only two lines of them)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexey View Post
    It is PIC16HV540.

    it has only 512 words of program memory, 25 bytes or RAM (enough for only three variables) and nothing else. BUT it is 15 volt chip including full 8 bit 15 volt port B (actually I use only two lines of them)
    Oh....
    I will need to think about that one...
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    This is interesting. I have never used a chip this "small"....

    What does the data stream look like and what part do you want to skip? Then what do you want to do with it?
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    it is a repeating string and the bytes I need are located 9 bytes after symbol 85. Ideally there are 7 bytes I want to know but I have room only for three variables, so I may have to read them one by one every next sycle or use only the first one as it is most important and I only need to ignite a warning LED at certain read value. Now I do it this way:
    SERIN PORTB.3,T2400,4000,CLR,[85],VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR

    Skipping 9 bytes cost me 45 words of memory which is near 9% of what I have totally

    Yes, this chip is very small, but I could not find another one with at least one 15 volt port (regular or open drain) to read and write serial data directly

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well I am stuck...
    Why not use another chip and a MAX232? Then the data could be pulled into an array.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexey View Post
    SERIN PORTB.3,T2400,4000,CLR,[85],VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR,VAR

    Skipping 9 bytes cost me 45 words of memory which is near 9% of what I have totally
    Hi Alexey,

    This program compiles to 124 words with a 16HV540.
    Code:
    INCLUDE "modedefs.bas"
    
    RX   VAR PORTB.3
    B0   VAR BYTE
    
    SERIN RX, T2400,[85]
    This one is 154 words.
    Code:
    INCLUDE "modedefs.bas"
    
    RX   VAR PORTB.3
    B0   VAR BYTE
    
    SERIN RX, T2400,[85],B0,B0,B0,B0,B0,B0,B0,B0,B0,B0
    But this one using DEBUGIN is only 75 words.
    Code:
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_REG PORTB ' Debugin pin port 
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_BIT 3     ' Debugin pin bit 
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_MODE 0    ' Debugin mode: 0 = True, 1 = Inverted 
    DEFINE DEBUG_BAUD 2400   ' Debug baud rate 
    
    B0      VAR BYTE
    MyData  VAR BYTE
    
    DEBUGIN [WAIT(85)]       ' wait for 85
    FOR B0 = 1 TO 9
        DEBUGIN [MyDATA]     ' skip 9 bytes
    NEXT B0
    DEBUGIN [MyDATA]         ' get the desired byte
    IF only I had a 16HV540 to test it on.
    DT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks again Darrel,
    I never even thought to try DEBUGIN and I certainly did not realize how compact it is.
    Another entry in the note book.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    For the longest time I completely ignored the DEBUG/DEBUGIN statements because it just seemed too much like a Basic Stamp command.

    Then I saw Bruce using them a lot and took another look.

    They really are better than SERIN/OUT, SERIN2/OUT2.
    As long as you only need one baud rate and fixed pins ... which fits probably 90% of the usual serial programs.

    Smaller, faster ... better.
    DT

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    825


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Darrel, with a loop of 10 cycles the last MyData will contain the desired byte saving one line instruction. (Assume something less than 75 words)

    Code:
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_REG PORTB ' Debugin pin port 
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_BIT 3     ' Debugin pin bit 
    DEFINE DEBUGIN_MODE 0    ' Debugin mode: 0 = True, 1 = Inverted 
    DEFINE DEBUG_BAUD 2400   ' Debug baud rate 
    
    B0      VAR BYTE
    MyData  VAR BYTE
    
    DEBUGIN [WAIT(85)]       ' wait for 85
    FOR B0 = 0 TO 9
        DEBUGIN [MyDATA]     ' skip 9 bytes
    NEXT B0
    'Last MyDATA will contain the desired byte
    All progress began with an idea

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aratti View Post
    Hi Darrel, with a loop of 10 cycles the last MyData will contain the desired byte saving one line instruction. (Assume something less than 75 words)
    Excellent!
    Didn't see that.

    And the compiler says ... drumroll ... 72 words.
    Aww, I thought it would save more than 3.
    DT

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    2,405


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    If you're not using Timer0, set it up for external clock, strap T0CKI to ground, and you have yourself a spare byte variable.
    Regards,

    -Bruce
    tech at rentron.com
    http://www.rentron.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Smile

    Wow! Gentlemen,

    Thank you for such great help. This saved me 94 of 512 words of memory, so I now can think about adding some other features. Will try how it works in reality this week and let you know.

    Another option could be going with another chip and additional driver chip to interface to a 14 Volt serial I/O line, but this makes the electrical schematic bigger, so I prefer to stay with this chip if possible.

    My understanding is that using DEBUG I will still be able to use the same pin as output before and after the DEBUG.

    Will need to learn more about the TIMER0 and how to configure to save space for one more variable because although I can live without it, it is still good to have. I have to use resonator for having precision timing, not sure it makes a difference or not.

    Thanks again!

    Thanks again

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Gentlemen,
    Checked the Debugin with PIC16F540 and yes, your advise works great, I could read the port and output high and low impulses into it between the serial input.

    Could not find out so far how to reduce use of RAM to get space for one more variable, but at least have enough memory for code now.

    Thank you very much

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    3,604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi,
    I think that is what Bruce was trying to help you with. TMR0 has a byte sized register that you can read and write just like any other variable. If you don't use TMR0 for its intended purposes you can "borrow" its register and use as a normal variable.

    So instead of declaring B0 as a BYTE and use that you simply use the TMR0 "variable".
    Code:
    MyData  VAR BYTE
    
    DEBUGIN [WAIT(85)]       ' wait for 85
    FOR TMR0 = 0 TO 9
        DEBUGIN [MyDATA]     ' skip 9 bytes
    NEXT TMR0
    'Last MyDATA will contain the desired byte
    If you want you can create an alias for TMR0 like any other variable:
    Code:
    B0 VAR TMR0
    Now reading and writing B0 will actually read and write TMR0. Personally I think spelling out TMR0 in the code better shows what is actually going on though.

    I hope that helps and that it is what Bruce was thinking.

    /Henrik.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    68


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thank you Henrik, Bruce,

    Yes, Bruce was trying to advise this, but I am not as smart in micro controllers as you guys are, so I was going a wrong way thinking there is a way to configure timer somehow and prevent PBP from using some RAM for things related to the timer.

    Thank you for clarifying this for me

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts