16F876A Pulsin issues


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I feel like such a rookie, :-) I should have look at more of my previous code, :-)

    Code:
    pulsin gr,1,g	
    pulsin rx,1,P          
    low throttle
    pulsout throttle, P
    Thanks exactly what I had in a previous project, :-)

    Can't wait to get home now, :-)

    Will post pics once I have it programed and working, hope to build up a nice multi function test unit - once thing im still investigating is how to measure the battery voltage of a 4 cell flight pack (nicad or nimh) with a 250ma load, im using the units 5.02V regulated supply as a reference but not quite sure if I could just give the flight pack's V to the ADC through a resistor and work from there? 4 Cell fully charged will give me 5.6V and I dont know what the ADC does when the voltage is higher than the reference V, also could the pic handle the extra .6V?

    On a side note I'm still hunting down a case for my LM35 project, finally got some ally tubing to house the sensor, just need to find a nice case for the PIC and water proof it, :-) (will post pics etc as well once complete)

    Kind Regards
    rob

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Hi, Rob

    Consider all inputs are clamped to Vcc + .6 v ... ( take care: clamps diodes are very Weeeeeeak ! )

    so, the best is not to have more than Vcc ... or use strong external clamp diodes ( 1 N4148 i.e )

    but analog inputs can rise to Vref + 2v ... not forgetting Vcc+.6v is an absolute maximum ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Would adding a bigger load to the pack solve the problem? A bigger load should pull the cells down to 1.2v per cell to give me a max of 4.8V on a fully charged pack? perhaps a 500ma load?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Bad Idea ...

    just use a voltage divider in the input ...

    1/2 is the easiest to find ( 2 equal 1% resistors ) ...
    2/3 is still easy ( 1 k and 2k resistors @ 1%)

    Installing a load that can draw 300 - 400 mA on demand is rather a good thing ...

    But think regulator doesn't output EXACT 5.000 v ... so measure it and enter value as a parameter for calculations ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I have an idiot grin on my face, :-) im making some really good progress, I have the pulse in now displaying on the screen (strange from a JR Rx Im getting a range from 560 - 990 from the pulsin) and have the ability to jump to a servo test (sweep from side to side) at the push of a button, :-)

    My ADC is sort of working, with the voltage divider I'm getting 2.54V on my DMM, however if I display the ADC input Im only seeing 2 and not the .54 (obviously this will be multiplied by 2 once i get the decimals). I have tried:

    Code:
    lcdout $FE, $C0+8, dec volt
    
    and 
    
    lcdout $FE, $C0+8, # volt

    but still only get the first digit. Is this due to the ADC VAR being a "WORD"

    Code:
    Volt    Var     WORD
    .
    .
    .
    ADCIN 4, volt
    .
    .
    .
    My Vref from the regulator is 5.00V on my DMM

    Not sure im getting this whole ADC concept, I;ve read another one of Melanie's posts and from what I can work out, my RAW ADC in variable should be as follows:

    if my Vref = 5.00 then if my ADCIN was exactly 5.00V the ADC result would give me 1024, however I am giving a ADC of 2.54 I should get a value in the variable of 520? however I am displaying a single digit "2" on the LCD with the code above, not sure how to do the math on this.
    Last edited by Bobbo_ZA; - 30th March 2010 at 20:56.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Ah, ok, finally, im a git, :-)

    Im now reading a 520 adc value with the battery on and the DMM measuring 2.54 (Needs to be multiplied by 2 to reverse the voltage divider effect).

    Err, something not right, im missing something with the math:

    Code:
        ADCIN 4, volt                  ' Read AN4 into temp variable
        Vin = (5*volt/1024)       ' Convert to voltage assuming 5.00 = 1024
    
    lcdout $FE, $C0+8, dec Vin,".",dec2 Vin,"V"
    pulling out many hairs, :-( my biggest issue is that even in school my maths was not great, spose thats why Excel was invented, for people like me, :-)
    Last edited by Bobbo_ZA; - 30th March 2010 at 21:56.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    52


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    just not getting the decimal places now, :-(

    Latest attempt
    Code:
    ADCIN 4, volt                  ' Read AN4 into temp variable
    volt = volt * 2
    Vin = (5*volt/1023)
    Vind = (volt // 1000) / 10 'millivolts?
    
    lcdout $FE, $C0+8, dec Vin,".",dec2 Vind,"V"
    Time to pack it in for the night, work tomorrow, fairly good progress, just the decimal points to figure out.

    Kind Regards
    Rob

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts