MOVF command


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: MOVF command

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13

    Default MOVF command

    Hi there
    This may be a dumb qestion but I am teaching myself and learning the hard way so please be kind to me!

    If I use the MOVF to move the contents of a register in RAM to W....does the PIC clear the contents of the register?

    Thanks
    Scopit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    MOVF really should have been named COPYF.
    Because it copies one register to another, leaving the original intact.

    Similarly MOVWF leaves the value in W, and copies it to the register.

    hth,
    DT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    13


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks Darrel.
    I know it was a pretty naive question but I am debugging some code and if the value was moved, it would have explained the problem!

Similar Threads

  1. Cordic trig assembly code for PIC18f
    By ScaleRobotics in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 54
    Last Post: - 8th September 2015, 05:36
  2. My code for TV remote and MIBAM for RGB control
    By idtat in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 12th January 2013, 20:52
  3. Active low input?
    By CosMecc in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: - 8th August 2010, 20:31
  4. Still HSEROUT woes
    By Charles Linquis in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: - 11th July 2006, 21:13
  5. Can I do this???
    By noobie in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 10th June 2006, 18:57

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts