LCD Blink


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: LCD Blink

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    133

    Question LCD Blink

    Hello i need help...

    how i avoid the blink using serout

    example:
    SerOut 1,N2400,[254,1]
    pause 100
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254, CDLine1,"EGT=",#EGT]
    Or
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254, CDLine1," "]
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254, CDLine1,"EGT=",#EGT]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    762


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Re: LCD Blink

    jetpr

    I think you need to tell us a bit mor precise what actual problem is.

    I understand you are using a serial LCD.

    is the "blink" you are talking about a "blinking-block-cursor"

    What type of display are you using?
    regards

    Ralph

    _______________________________________________
    There are only 10 types of people:
    Those who understand binary, and those who don't ...
    _______________________________________________



  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    133


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question Blink LCD

    In set of using Clear the Screen with the LCD command ...

    Who i ken clear the Screen with out the LCD command for clear to avoid the blink screen..

    my problems is when you print to the LCD example...
    Start:

    Run=125
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254, LCDLine1,"Run=",#Run]

    Display Run=125

    but the problem is

    Run=12
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254, LCDLine1,"Run=",#Run]

    Display Run=125

    goto Stat

    the number 5 is from the one before and if a use the clear command then you si the screen blink..
    this ken be done by send spaces but i look blink and with the command for lcd...


    my ingles is not good so i dot now is a explain correct...

    I appreciation the help ..
    Last edited by jetpr; - 6th February 2005 at 22:38.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    ayeeeeee. O.K.

    I'll try to make your life easier with some question and answer

    1. Do you want to avoid LCD blink when you refresh your display?

    This can be caused by the slow baudrate you're using or the delay between each LCD refresh.

    Usually when using a PAUSE of 100 ms between each LCD refresh is good.

    Try this
    Code:
    start :
    
         SerOut 1, N2400, [254,1,"EGT=",#EGT] ' this line clear the LCD 
                                              ' and display on the
                                              ' first line in one shot
         pause 100
         goto start

    2. Do you want to refresh only one part of your display. I mean only the section after "EGT=" ?

    In your case, try this one
    Code:
    SerOut 1, N2400, [254,1,"EGT="]
    start :
    
         SerOut 1, N2400, [254,$84,"     "] ' this line clear 5 character
                                            ' after "EGT="
                                            '
         SerOut 1, N2400, [254,$84,#EGT]    ' this line display your result
                                            ' right after "EGT="
         pause 100
         goto start
    I hope this is what you're looking for.

    I'm i right but you speak spanish? If yes, let us know, i think that some user can translate for you.

    WHO'S SPANISH HERE???

    P.S: a i see you just edit your post, perhaps the 2nd code example will work.
    Last edited by mister_e; - 6th February 2005 at 22:48.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Puerto Rico
    Posts
    133


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking LCD Blink

    Thans for you help i fix it

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Great to know that jetpr!
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. Is this code not initialising the LCD properly?
    By Platypus in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 30th January 2010, 19:14
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  4. LCD Problem
    By karenhornby in forum General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 19th June 2008, 11:43
  5. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts