LCD contrast


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: LCD contrast

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,599

    Default LCD contrast

    Hi,

    If a LCD is 4 lines by 20 characters and we turn the contrast way up, do we get:

    - 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank, 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank.

    or

    - 4 lines contrast squares.

    It looks like I'm as successful getting this CASIL CCM-2040CSL v2.0 LCD going as I was getting registers shifting.

    What is the difference between using a 4 bit bus vs an 8 bit bus? I am trying to use 8 bits 'cause, well I have them. I figured that 8 bits would either give faster communication or some other advantage.

    I am running this on a 16F628 at 20MHz.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    Posts
    2,599


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Euh, nevermind...?

    I was testing the 4 vs 8 bit bus technique and it works using 4 bits.

    Oh well, I have 4 spare pins on my PIC.

    Robert
    My Creality Ender 3 S1 Plus is a giant paperweight that can't even be used as a boat anchor, cause I'd be fined for polluting our waterways with electronic devices.

    Not as dumb as yesterday, but stupider than tomorrow!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi robert,

    If i refer to my, i'll get :

    - 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank, 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank.

    What is the difference between using a 4 bit bus vs an 8 bit bus? I am trying to use 8 bits 'cause, well I have them. I figured that 8 bits would either give faster communication or some other advantage.
    i always use LCD in 4bit mode. This way you save I/O ( duh! ). It can be more faster... it has too but... who will see it??? i think nobody

    Don't forget the LCD Defines... 4 lines and blah blah blah. Be sure you disable analog comparator and place pull-up on RA4 pin.

    In my case i'll place all LCD pins on PORTB. The define lines will look something like this
    Code:
    '********************** Lcd pinout ******************************
    '
    '                  B0-B3 : Data port 
    '                     B4 : Rs Bit              
    '                     B5 : E Bit               
    '
    define LCD_DREG PORTB   ' Set data pin of LCD to
    define LCD_DBIT 0       ' PORTB.0-PORTB.3
    define LCD_RSREG PORTB  ' Set RS bit of LCD to
    define LCD_RSBIT 4      ' PORTB.4
    define LCD_EREG PORTB   ' Set E bit of LCD to
    define LCD_EBIT 5       ' PORTB.5
    define LCD_LINES 4
    Last edited by mister_e; - 31st January 2005 at 03:30.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

  4. #4
    chikyto's Avatar
    chikyto Guest


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default datasheet

    Hello Robert

    I am writing you for asking about the datasheet of CASIL CCM-2040CSL v2.0 LCD because I have one of this component but I can't find your datasheet.

    Please, can you send me a copy if you have it?

    Sorry by me english, I am studing



    Chikyto


    Quote Originally Posted by Demon View Post
    Hi,

    If a LCD is 4 lines by 20 characters and we turn the contrast way up, do we get:

    - 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank, 1 line contrast squares, 1 line blank.

    or

    - 4 lines contrast squares.

    It looks like I'm as successful getting this CASIL CCM-2040CSL v2.0 LCD going as I was getting registers shifting.

    What is the difference between using a 4 bit bus vs an 8 bit bus? I am trying to use 8 bits 'cause, well I have them. I figured that 8 bits would either give faster communication or some other advantage.

    I am running this on a 16F628 at 20MHz.

    Robert
    Last edited by Demon; - 4th October 2016 at 16:53.

Similar Threads

  1. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  2. Play with LCD on PICDEM
    By The IceMan in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 22nd August 2008, 16:56
  3. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  4. Controlling LCD contrast?
    By jblackann in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: - 27th December 2006, 02:31
  5. How to change contrast LCD?
    By MCU Destroyer in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 3rd July 2005, 13:16

Members who have read this thread : 1

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts