RTC chip or PIC?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    I think the DS1337's alarm can be set for one second. Probably doing the same thing as Dave mentioned with his.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    SWITZERLAND (french speaking)
    Posts
    938


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default Voilą

    Okay.

    So I modified the code as this:
    Code:
    <html><head></head><body><!--StartFragment--><pre><code><font color="#000080"><i>' PIC16F630 Fuses
    </i></font><font color="#008000">@ DEVICE WDT_ON
    
    </font><font color="#000080"><i>'-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ' Registers   76543210
    </i></font>WPUA       = %00110100 <font color="#000080"><i>'Weak Pull-up of PORTA for SCL and SDA on DS1307
    </i></font>TRISA      = %00000100 <font color="#000080"><i>'Set Input/Output
    
    '-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ' Variables
    </i></font>DSOut    <b>VAR </b>PORTA.2 <font color="#000080"><i>'DS1307 SQW pin #7
    
    '-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    </i></font>MAIN:
    <b>IF </b>DSOut = 0 <b>THEN
       GOSUB </b>Read_1307  <font color="#000080"><i>'Read the time &amp; date
       </i></font><b>GOSUB </b>lcd
       <font color="#000080"><i>'put PIC in low-power mode for 576+288+72=936ms
       </i></font><b>NAP </b>5
       <b>NAP </b>4
       <b>NAP </b>2
    <b>ENDIF
    GOTO </b>MAIN:
    <b>END
    </b></code></pre><!--EndFragment--></body>
    </html>
    Maybe it doesn't make a lot of sense to put the PIC in low-power mode. How is it done in the "industrial" life?
    Roger

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    604


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Also, you can now get PIC's with a built-in RTCC.

Similar Threads

  1. Camera with PIC chip
    By The Master in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 1st July 2008, 14:28
  2. PIC chip resetting. Very weird
    By The Master in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 28th October 2007, 17:07
  3. Help on coding/ selecting PIC chip for project
    By lovemeok in forum General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: - 27th July 2006, 19:21
  4. Best PIC chip..?..
    By Delusional in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: - 4th February 2006, 03:17
  5. Serial Pic to Pic using HSER
    By Chadhammer in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 11th March 2005, 23:14

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts