Help with Pic Delay Pulse code please


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 37 of 37

Hybrid View

  1. #1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g7jiq View Post
    Hi Chris

    I have given it a try, and nothing happens,
    I get no errors on programming etc, but nothing.

    I have changed the control pins around as you have used a different orientation, wonder why this was? any reason,

    All looks fine as far as I can see.

    ?????

    Cheers
    Dave.
    Not sure what you mean by a change in pin orientation? Could you explain what it was you neded to change.

    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    35


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Chris

    My pin out was

    InputTrigger var GPIO.0 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    Output0 var GPIO.1 ' Normally high, goes low when triggered
    Output1 var GPIO.2 ' Normally high, goes low when triggered
    '

    You changed it to

    InputTrigger var GPIO.5 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    InputReset var GPIO.2 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to RESET
    OutputLine var GPIO.0 ' Normally HIGH, goes LOW when triggered
    Led var GPIO.1

    The pinouts in my circuit (GPIO.0 , 1, 2 ) were transposed to ( GPIO.5, 2, 0, 1 )
    The i/p and o/p are switched around, the trigger is on GPIO.0 you have it on GPIO.5, this is unused on my i/c, I also don't have a led (but I can add one tho if needed)



    Cheers
    Confused Dave..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Talking

    Hi, G7

    Just think a while ...

    What you ask is to know IN ADVANCE if your input will be shorter or longer than 1 second ...

    You can't know that before the second is elapsed ...

    Just my two cents ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  4. #4


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g7jiq View Post
    Hi Chris

    My pin out was

    InputTrigger var GPIO.0 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    Output0 var GPIO.1 ' Normally high, goes low when triggered
    Output1 var GPIO.2 ' Normally high, goes low when triggered
    '

    You changed it to

    InputTrigger var GPIO.5 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    InputReset var GPIO.2 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to RESET
    OutputLine var GPIO.0 ' Normally HIGH, goes LOW when triggered
    Led var GPIO.1

    The pinouts in my circuit (GPIO.0 , 1, 2 ) were transposed to ( GPIO.5, 2, 0, 1 )
    The i/p and o/p are switched around, the trigger is on GPIO.0 you have it on GPIO.5, this is unused on my i/c, I also don't have a led (but I can add one tho if needed)



    Cheers
    Confused Dave..

    Sorry Dave but, the code I used was the code in your original message, and pin assignements are clearly listed there the same as they were in my reply

    ' Define Hardware
    ' ---------------
    InputTrigger var GPIO.5 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    InputReset var GPIO.2 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to RESET
    OutputLine var GPIO.0 ' Normally HIGH, goes LOW when triggered
    Led var GPIO.1
    '

    The assignments in my reply are the same as in your first message on this thread. I can only think that your copy of the program has either merged together this file with another (Did yiou cut and paste ?) or something else is wrong.

    Either way I happy that my reply and your first message use the same pinouts, as you will see when you check for yourself

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    35


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Chris

    Beg your pudin, its been driving me mad for weeks, (I got in a right mess, thus the reason for the post on here)
    I did cut and paste (several times) I have about 9 versions of the code here.
    The mix up is I had cut pasted the original code from here for my 1st message,
    I had changed it around to match my circuit, both did work ok.
    (maybe I should had given up and gone down the pub)


    With a clear head I have re programed the pic,
    I have tried in my circuit and also bread boarded it.
    Here's what I get when powered up,

    GP0.0 high no change
    GP0.1 low no change
    GP0.2 high no change
    GPO.3 high no change
    GPO.4 high no change
    GPO.5 high/low trigger (i/p toggle)

    Your coding is re pasted below so you can check nothing was corrupted in the copy/past process.

    Cheers..

    '************************************************* ***************
    '* Name : UNTITLED.BAS *
    '* Author : Chris Barron *
    '* Notice : Copyright (c) 2009 Chris Barron *
    '* : All Rights Reserved *
    '* Date : 01/04/2009 *
    '* Version : 1.0 *
    '* Notes : *
    '* : *
    '************************************************* ***************
    '************************************************* * *************

    'G7JIQ MICRO LINK REPEATER
    'PIC 12F675
    'Internal RC clock
    '
    ' PIC Defines
    ' -----------
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT
    ' System Clock Options (Internal)
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, WDT_ON
    ' Watchdog Timer
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, PWRT_ON
    ' Power-On Timer
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, MCLR_OFF
    ' Master Clear Options (Internal)
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, BOD_ON
    ' Brown-Out Detect
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, CPD_OFF
    ' Data Memory Code Protect
    @ DEVICE pic12F675, PROTECT_OFF
    ' Program Code Protection

    '
    ' Define Hardware
    ' ---------------
    InputTrigger var GPIO.5 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to Trigger
    InputReset var GPIO.2 ' Input normally HIGH, goes LOW to RESET
    OutputLine var GPIO.0 ' Normally HIGH, goes LOW when triggered
    Led var GPIO.1

    '
    ' Define Variables
    ' ----------------
    DelayTick var Byte ' 100mS Tick Counter
    myflags var byte
    '
    ' Initialise PIC
    ' --------------
    Reset:
    TRISIO=%00100100 ' Preset I/O
    CMCON=%00000111 ' Disable Comparators
    ANSEL=%00000000 ' Disable ADC
    DelayTick=100 ' Reset Counter
    myflags = 0
    high OutputLine ' Everything RESET



    ' Main Program Loop
    ' -----------------
    Loop:
    '
    ' Test for RESET
    ' --------------
    While InputReset=0 ' Just wait here if RESET
    high OutputLine ' Reset Output
    myflags = 0
    DelayTick = 100
    Wend

    ' We're using the lower 2 bits of the 'myflags' register to store the state of
    ' the input pin over the last two program loop iterations
    ' myflags.0 stores the current pin state and myflags.1 stores the previous
    'state.
    myflags.1 = myflags.0 ' Move the last 'current state' into the 'last state' bit
    myflags.0 = InputTrigger ' Store the current state

    ' By storing the two states we can detect the transition from high to low
    ' A high to low transition = 00000010 = decimal 2
    ' A low to high transition = 00000001 = decimal 1

    if myflags = 2 then
    DelayTick = 100 ' A high to low transition, reset the delay
    else
    if delaytick > 0 then delaytick = delaytick - 1
    endif

    pause 10 ' adjust to get the resolution required (10 x DelayTick = total hang time)

    if inputtrigger = 0 then low OutputLine; if input is active set output active

    if ((inputtrigger = 1) and (Delaytick = 0)) then high outputline

    goto loop:

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g7jiq View Post
    Hi Chris

    Beg your pudin, its been driving me mad for weeks, (I got in a right mess, thus the reason for the post on here)
    It's alright Jeff,
    I am merely interested to know if it works or not, and if not, what is the problem and I will try to help to rectify it.

    Cheers
    Chris

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    35


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Chris

    Is there any updates yet, Have you got it working??

    Cheers...

  8. #8


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by g7jiq View Post
    Hi Chris

    Is there any updates yet, Have you got it working??

    Cheers...
    Sorry Jeff , I have been wating for you to tell me what is wrong with it (as in what it does or does not do correctly.)

    I am very busy for a few days so you may better off doing some debugging of yoiur own in the meantime. If you have enough spare pins you can attach an led to each pin and activate the leds as the program reaches each section.....when the leds stop lighting is where the problem lies.
    If you're short of pins, possibly you are, I usually write a small flashing led sequence and change the number of flashes for each part of the program and that way I always know where the program reached, but if you're going to debug with picbasic you could easily just use the 'debug' command and send serial data out to your PC to tell you where the program stopped.

Similar Threads

  1. 16F628A - Stops if release power switch.
    By dene12 in forum General
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: - 14th February 2009, 07:57
  2. Making Program Code Space your playground...
    By Melanie in forum Code Examples
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: - 19th July 2008, 08:26
  3. Help writing pic program with i/p o/p hold delay
    By g7jiq in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 27th May 2008, 21:58
  4. Pic driven digital audio delay
    By skimask in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 19th April 2007, 20:42
  5. Memory Space of the PIC16F84...
    By Tear in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 1st July 2005, 19:55

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts