LCD 8x2 - SPLC780D controller


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1

    Default LCD 8x2 - SPLC780D controller

    Hello Guys,

    Has anyone tried this LCD controller with LCDout?

    Thanks!

    Daniel.
    Last edited by DanPBP; - 24th February 2009 at 05:56.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Wink

    Hi,

    YES !

    Nothing special, just characters table slightly different ... very slightly !

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hello Alain,

    I tried the SPLC780D controller, but I couldn't make the 8x2 LCD to work.

    But, my code is working fine on a 16F877 with a HD44780 controller (20x2).

    Code:
    DEFINE OSC 20
    ADCON1 = 7
    
    DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTD
    DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
    DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTC
    DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 6
    DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTC
    DEFINE LCD_EBIT 7
    DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
    DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50
    
    Pause 500
    
    LCDOut $fe, 1
    LCDOut "Hello Word"
    
    End
    Any advice on how to configure this controller is much appreciated.

    Thanks!

    Daniel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Question Strange

    Hi, Daniel

    Could you post your LCD ref. ... I use every day a SPL controlled 2x16 Display instead of a classical 44780 , aboard my EasyPic5 Board.

    So, I'd recommand you to check twice your LCD Wiring ... R/W pin grounded ??? Contrast set ???

    To the end you could try LCD_COMMANDUS 2500 ... I noted my 2*8 LCDs to be a bit " lazy " ... and they need 2000 at least.

    Did you try ... another 2x8 LCD ??? a damaged device is always possible ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  5. #5


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Alain,

    Well, I tried 2500 on the LCD_COMMANDUS and it's still not working.

    I have a working 16F877 with a 20x2 LCD (HD44780) that works great and I use this for debbuging.

    So, I replaced that LCD with the 8x2 LCD (both have pins, so nothing to solder on them) and what it does is the following: first, all the characters on the first line went black and the it clears the screen. But. I'm not seeing the text I'm trying to write.

    This is the information I have on this LCD:



    Everything should be fine, but I'm missing something.

    Thanks!

    Daniel.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,648


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Lightbulb

    Hi, Daniel

    http://www.fordata.cn/pdf/short/fdcc0802b.pdf

    Check the Contrast PIN ... you should have ~ 0.5 v on it ...

    Alain
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    montreal, canada
    Posts
    6,898


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Seems to be an init problem.

    What I would try is to use a huge StartUp delay... let's say 2 Sec instead of 500mSec.

    increase
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50


    to something like
    DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 3000
    DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 100

    and then
    Code:
            LCDOUT $FE,1
            FLAGS=0
            pause 100
            LCDOUT $FE,1," Hello"
    Here: 
            Goto Here
    Now, Is this possible that unused data pins need to be set to GND or VDD to make it work.. that's plausible.
    Steve

    It's not a bug, it's a random feature.
    There's no problem, only learning opportunities.

Similar Threads

  1. LCD with T6963C controller
    By Demon in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 22nd May 2022, 20:11
  2. 16f688 LCD what have I done wrong
    By spitfiredriver in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 8th August 2009, 19:54
  3. Need help with LCD number display.
    By Steve Matson in forum mel PIC BASIC
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: - 26th June 2007, 23:07
  4. LCD will not start
    By btaylor in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: - 24th May 2007, 02:30
  5. Dedicated LCD Controller question
    By chuckles in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 27th February 2006, 14:44

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts