Uniformity of 'POT' accross pins?


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Hi Anand. I had the same problem measuring resistors. And yes, I found that portc gave me entirely different results than portb on a 16F73. The portb pins were very close but 2 of the 4 used gave me a slightly different result. So, I modified the automatic calibration program shown in the PBP manual. Perhaps you can do a similar routine to calibrate your capacitors. Scale1, scale2, scale3 and scale4 get calibrated individually and I am getting consistent results reading resistors from 470 ohms to 47K. The gosub makesound simply beeps a sounder letting you know as each scale gets calibrated. I also have a program that will beep the scale value to let you know what the actual number is. Let me know if you want that.

    Clear 'ALL VARIABLES = 0
    LET SCALE1 = 1 'START CALIBRATION @ 1

    TEST1:
    Pot PORTB.7,SCALE1,Y 'START ADVANCING SCALE UNTIL THE DEFAULT RESISTOR 47K = 253
    IF (Y < 253) Then LET SCALE1 = (SCALE1 + 1): GoTo TEST1
    GoSub MAKESOUND 'CALIBRATION1 COMPLETED


    LET SCALE2 = 1 'START CALIBRATION @ 1

    TEST2:
    Pot PORTB.6,SCALE2,Y 'START ADVANCING SCALE UNTIL THE DEFAULT RESISTOR 47K = 253
    IF (Y < 253) Then LET SCALE2 = (SCALE2 + 1): GoTo TEST2
    GoSub MAKESOUND 'CALIBRATION2 COMPLETED

    LET SCALE3 = 1 'START CALIBRATION @ 1

    TEST3:
    Pot PORTB.5,SCALE3,Y 'START ADVANCING SCALE UNTIL THE DEFAULT RESISTOR 47K = 253
    IF (Y < 253) Then LET SCALE3 = (SCALE3 + 1): GoTo TEST3
    GoSub MAKESOUND 'CALIBRATION3 COMPLETED

    LET SCALE4 = 1 'START CALIBRATION @ 1

    TEST4:
    Pot PORTB.4,SCALE4,Y 'START ADVANCING SCALE UNTIL THE DEFAULT RESISTOR 47K = 253
    IF (Y < 253) Then LET SCALE4 = (SCALE4 + 1): GoTo TEST4
    GoSub MAKESOUND 'CALIBRATION4 COMPLETED
    Last edited by peterdeco1; - 23rd February 2009 at 15:32. Reason: shorten post

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    448


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Bill, Peter, thanks for the suggestions.

    Although I think the self-calibration idea is ingenious, in my app. it might be difficult/cumbersome to implement, as I have 4 channels, and when I deploy the instrument it might not be possible to sweep each channel from minima to maxima at the same time.

    Also, I notice that the dissimilar readings on the different channels are happenning not because of the sensors (caps) themselves, but the inherent differences in the pic pins, even if they are on the same port.

    I got around this by a technique that seems to be working very well; maybe it would helps others with a similar issue.

    I am using just 1 pin to measure all 4 channels; the 4 sensors are multiplexed using a 4066 CMOS switch chip.

    The outcome is that I now need to calibrate for just one channel, and as long as my sensors are uniform (which I found they are) I get a consistent reading for all 4 of them as I scan them one after the other.

    Regards,

    Anand

Similar Threads

  1. Using the Pot command.
    By timseven in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 17th August 2009, 20:23
  2. Change On Interrupt, PIC16F884
    By elec_mech in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: - 14th November 2008, 17:25
  3. A/D, Pot, Input, A,B So lost now....
    By Helmutt in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 9th March 2008, 22:23
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 24th January 2007, 22:20
  5. pot controlled pwm -- help
    By docwisdom in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 29th January 2006, 12:29

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts