POT part values


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: POT part values

  1. #1

    Default POT part values

    I think (don't have the book handy), that POT performs best with specific values
    for the RC network.

    Something like a .1UF cap and 50K pot right?

    So, if I stay in a certain "freq range" will I get the same result?

    Like if I use a 500K pot, that's ok as long as I go down in capacitance?

    Also --

    How long does it take POT to sense the value? You have to stay in a loop?
    For how long?

    THANKS.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    80


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Well, the manual is online..

    http://www.melabs.com/resources/pbpm...8-5_53.htm#550

    I usally try something that looks good, and then test if it works..

    I didnt loop it, ofcoz there is some time it needs to read it, but it can't be very long.

    Here is how I used it in my fancontroller:

    Code:
    main:
    	pot portb.1,Scale,resist0	' read value resist0 with scale scale on port d.1
    	LCDOUT $FE, 1, "Duty = ", #resist0, " ", #pwmfreq, "Hz"
    	HPWM 1,resist0,pwmfreq
    	pause 100
    	GoTo main
    The pause is mainly for the LCD, dont think it was needed for the pot command.

    I used a 20K pot and a 220nF cap, with this setup a scale value of 145 was perfect.
    Last edited by Glenn; - 22nd January 2009 at 22:10.

  3. #3


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Great -- I'll play with some cap values.

    I'm stuck with a 500K trimmer in an exisiting design.

    Hopefully, POT doesn't take to long to execute as my program needs to keep moving or I could have some problems.

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    1,185


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Great -- I'll play with some cap values.

    I'm stuck with a 500K trimmer in an exisiting design.

    Hopefully, POT doesn't take to long to execute as my program needs to keep moving or I could have some problems.

    Thanks.
    I guess, you will need to use 1nf for 500K pot to get the same linearity as 100nf with 5K POT.

    __________________
    "If the Earth were a single state, Istanbul would be its capital." Napoleon Bonaparte

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    NW France
    Posts
    3,616


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Unhappy

    Hi, Sayzer

    A Happy new year for the Two sides of the Bosphor.



    No ...

    You do have to stick to the 50k - 0.1µF @ 4Mhz harware config. other values will give much limited range and great loss of granularity and precision - Sorry Glenn, but dozen of tests have been run ...

    POT doesn't work at all as RCTime ...

    I think many threads have been launched on this sublect during the past years - including the POT mechanism description ...

    Alain
    Last edited by Acetronics2; - 23rd January 2009 at 09:37.
    ************************************************** ***********************
    Why insist on using 32 Bits when you're not even able to deal with the first 8 ones ??? ehhhhhh ...
    ************************************************** ***********************
    IF there is the word "Problem" in your question ...
    certainly the answer is " RTFM " or " RTFDataSheet " !!!
    *****************************************

  6. #6


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Thanks.

    A definitive answer indeed.

    Guess I'm out of luck then. The cap is there for noise then?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    80


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Acetronics View Post
    You do have to stick to the 50k - 0.1µF @ 4Mhz harware config. other values will give much limited range and great loss of granularity and precision - Sorry Glenn, but dozen of tests have been run ...
    Well, what can I say, it works fine for me with 20K and 220nf.. I get around zero and 254 at the endstops, and linearity that is good enough for me, actually I just tried to pout the value on a darrel-bargraph (Yea, I do love them ) and it "feels" right when turning the pot looking at the bargraph.

    Maybe its not ideal, but at least its good enough for me, and probably most people ?

    ..But if I can choose the value (In this case there was a pot inbuilt that I wanted to use) I'll think about it.
    Last edited by Glenn; - 24th January 2009 at 10:41.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    80


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Michael View Post
    Thanks.

    A definitive answer indeed.

    Guess I'm out of luck then. The cap is there for noise then?
    Due to the manual its..

    "The resistance is measured by timing the discharge of a capacitor through the resistor (typically 5K to 50K)."

    And it really looks like its done this way too.

Similar Threads

  1. POT command
    By Michael in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 4th December 2008, 22:33
  2. A/D, Pot, Input, A,B So lost now....
    By Helmutt in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: - 9th March 2008, 22:23
  3. Replies: 4
    Last Post: - 24th January 2007, 22:20
  4. t in POT, c's values
    By selbstdual in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: - 24th August 2006, 23:30
  5. pot controlled pwm -- help
    By docwisdom in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 29th January 2006, 12:29

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts