Button with bad contact


Closed Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia, Gold Coast
    Posts
    31

    Default Button with bad contact

    Hello,

    Awhile back, I made an automated weekly timer for my fish tank, to power on the heaters, co2 etc. In the recent weeks, the buttons have not been responding as they used to.

    I used Darrel's routine for external interrupts on RB0 to detect button push in combination with other pins. Unfortunately I couldn't use the timers for it as they were used in other parts of the program. Nonetheless the exisiting setup had been working well for the last 8mths.

    The buttons are normall held high via 10k resistors and pulled low on button press. I have included the part with the button connections (See attached JPG)

    However, I suspect the buttons are not the best, contacts may have corroded over time, sort of cheap and nasty. They have 1.2 Ohm, sometimes 1.8O hm resistance across the terminals on press. The pic sometimes has difficulty detecting this.

    Now the sensible thing to do, is to replace the buttons with higher quality ones, right?

    Bit of a dilemma, I machined a nice aluminium case for it, so I would prefer not to change the case.

    Any suggestions on how to detect presses on a crappy button would be appreciated.

    Cheers
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    "Never under estimate the powers of an idiot"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Colorado Springs
    Posts
    4,959


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What kind of diodes did you use?
    Schottky will work best, with a lower forward voltage drop.

    You can also lower the value of the pull-ups.
    Drop to 1K if you have to.

    The INT input on RB0 is a Schmidt trigger, so it has to go above 4V to trigger a "Rising edge", or below 1V to trigger a "Falling edge".
    It must see a rising edge, before it will recognize a falling edge.
    <br>
    DT

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Wellton, U.S.A.
    Posts
    5,924


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    What about replacing with the same button, but this time seal them some how.

    Even a "good" switch will fail under the wrong conditions. Some of my stuff is in dusty and caustic environments. Depends on how the switch is constructed, use a rubber boot and some brand of sealant, (polyurethane, enamel, lacquer) electrical supply house will have it.
    Dave
    Always wear safety glasses while programming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia, Gold Coast
    Posts
    31


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Many thanks Darrel,

    Sorry I cleaned up the schematic to make it look less cluttered and left off the diode names. They are 1N4148, small signal diodes. I can easily change the resistors to 1K, I'll give it a go.
    I'll also check the voltage on RB0. Much appreciated
    Many thanks
    "Never under estimate the powers of an idiot"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Australia, Gold Coast
    Posts
    31


    Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mackrackit View Post
    What about replacing with the same button, but this time seal them some how.

    Even a "good" switch will fail under the wrong conditions. Some of my stuff is in dusty and caustic environments. Depends on how the switch is constructed, use a rubber boot and some brand of sealant, (polyurethane, enamel, lacquer) electrical supply house will have it.
    Hi Mackrackit,
    The aquarium timer control sits under the aquarium cabinet that is seperated from the pumps etc. It is surprisingly dry, but I'm convinced it is a dodgy switch. I used these http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=SP0700
    I have used these for other projects and honestly not real happy with them.
    Cheers
    "Never under estimate the powers of an idiot"

Similar Threads

  1. Sony SIRC IR Issue
    By Ryan7777 in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: - 8th August 2015, 08:10
  2. 3 HPWM channels
    By docwisdom in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: - 4th April 2006, 02:43
  3. Code check -- button not working
    By docwisdom in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: - 2nd March 2006, 22:43
  4. Button Push within 3 second Window
    By Tissy in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: - 22nd December 2005, 10:06
  5. Button subfunction 16F628
    By Jųan in forum mel PIC BASIC Pro
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: - 19th August 2005, 16:44

Members who have read this thread : 0

You do not have permission to view the list of names.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts