PDA

View Full Version : TCN75 Temp Sensor

Frozen001
- 18th September 2008, 18:54
I want to use MicroChips TCN75 2-wire temperature sensor in a project, but still being a PIC Basic newbie, I am stumped on where to even start. I assume I have to use I2CREAD and I2CWRITE, but from there I do not know where to go.... I am using an 18F8722 Pic.

skimask
- 18th September 2008, 20:07
I want to sue MicroChips TCN75
That would be a good trick!

2-wire temperature sensor in a project, but still being a PIC Basic newbie, I am stumped on where to even start. I assume I have to use I2CREAD and I2CWRITE, but from there I do not know where to go.... I am using an 18F8722 Pic.

First off, you read the datasheet and learn a little bit about the part you want to play with.
The you take note of any and all addresses that the part might or might not use and/or any data that has to be transferred to and/or from the device depending on what you want to do.
If you have used any EEPROM devices at all, this device should act pretty much like those...write a location to do something, read another location to get some data back.
Write some code. Somebody might walk you thru it, somebody might help you figure out what is wrong. However, I'd doubt somebody wil write it for you...

Frozen001
- 18th September 2008, 20:27
That would be a good trick!

First off, you read the datasheet and learn a little bit about the part you want to play with.
The you take note of any and all addresses that the part might or might not use and/or any data that has to be transferred to and/or from the device depending on what you want to do.
If you have used any EEPROM devices at all, this device should act pretty much like those...write a location to do something, read another location to get some data back.
Write some code. Somebody might walk you thru it, somebody might help you figure out what is wrong. However, I'd doubt somebody wil write it for you...