PDA

View Full Version : Debounce PULSIN?

Tomexx
- 26th November 2004, 20:13
Hi,
I'm trying to measure a pulse using the PULSIN command.
Everything works when I'm sending a clean pulse from the Pulse Generator. But then when I move into the real world (a push button switch changing from 0V to 5V) things stop working.

I suspect that contact bouncing on the switch is the problem.

Can I software debounce the PULSIN command somehow?

scorpion
- 26th November 2004, 20:36
im fairly new to this, but i love to put in my 2 cents. haha

could you see the pin go high, wait a bit, then start the pulsin and add the time it takes for the wait?

Tomexx
- 26th November 2004, 22:28
Well, I can't really put any timing delays because this circuit is going to be hooked up to a machine and can't miss any pulses. Here's how it works:

A machine sends about 4 pulses per second (noisy signal) and my pic is supposed to count their high states and average the last 10. If the average falls out of range, then my pic sends a pulse to PLC which will stop the machine. Normally the pulses are high for about 20-40 ms.

I've done the pulse counting and averaging but since the pulses are so noisy my pic pics up the garbage. So I need to clean the signal comming out of the machime.

scorpion
- 26th November 2004, 22:42
cant you use debounce and incriment a counter??

kattronics
- 26th November 2004, 22:46
Can you use an Optocoupler?

Tomexx
- 26th November 2004, 22:50
Scorpion,
What do you mean by debounce & increment counter?

Kattronics,
I'd rather keep parts to a minimum. I can always use a hardware RC network + Schmit trigger gate but would like to try a software solution. The damn thing works with a pulse generator like a charm.

scorpion
- 26th November 2004, 22:51
oh sorry. how long they are high for.... oops

scorpion
- 26th November 2004, 22:53
will it never be less than 20ms?

Tomexx
- 26th November 2004, 22:54
It is low all the time except for 4 times per second goes high for about 20ms