PDA

View Full Version : Pic16f870

plyrathrt
- 1st August 2008, 17:47
I am new to using the PIC Mid-Range MCU's and I am struggling with them.

I can't seem to get the PIC16F870 to change it's pins to digital. I am only familar with PICBasic Pro.

Anyhow, from the datasheet and the reference manual for mid-range pic's, it seems that it uses ADCON0 and ADCON1. I have set these bits and my Tris bits. Still doesn't Fing work.

I have Porta.0, Porta.1, Portb.4, and Portb.5 as digital inputs (for a button press) and all the rest just need to be digital outputs so they can go high or low to switch some NPN transistors on and off.

Any help on how the hell to get this to function at all would be very appreciated.

skimask
- 1st August 2008, 17:50
And what values are you using for the ADCON registers and for the TRIS registers?

Straight from the PIC16F870 datasheet, DS30569B, Pg 80, and DS30569B, Pg 33, Para. 4.1., Register 10-2.

mat janssen
- 1st August 2008, 17:53
ADCON1 = 7

should be there to set all to digital.
I'ts all readable in the datasheet of that part.

plyrathrt
- 1st August 2008, 17:53
Adcon0=0
Adcon1=7
Trisa = %000011
Trisb = %00110000
Trisc = %00000000

This is what I have been using since the beginning and it still doesn't work. I have it on my EasyPIC 5 and when I load a simple code to blink LED's when I "press" one of the 4 inputs buttons, it doesn't blink any of the LEDs..... Very strange, Very confusing, and this chip is going to die via a hammer very soon.

skimask
- 1st August 2008, 18:22
Adcon0=0
Adcon1=7
Trisa = %000011
Trisb = %00110000
Trisc = %00000000

This is what I have been using since the beginning and it still doesn't work. I have it on my EasyPIC 5 and when I load a simple code to blink LED's when I "press" one of the 4 inputs buttons, it doesn't blink any of the LEDs..... Very strange, Very confusing, and this chip is going to die via a hammer very soon.