PDA

View Full Version : NewbieFirstPost PIC16F616 or 16LF818

buglow
- 22nd June 2008, 20:34
Hi. This is my first post. Yes, I'm a newbie. Trying to come up with a way to read a variable voltage (from a sensor through an op-amp) using the PicBasic Compiler from MicroEngineering Labs, then convert it to be displayed on a two-digit 7-segment LCD. Is there a standard for doing this? It's not PicBasic Pro so it doesn't allow ADCin, making it more difficult to read ADC inputs. I have to somehow use the PEEK command instead. Is it possible to simply PEEK an input or do I have to somehow store the value in a register then PEEK that? I have analog experience but programming microcontrollers is alltogether different! Is there some simple method to accomplish this? Thank You, Buglow

mat janssen
- 23rd June 2008, 17:02
Please post your code so we can help you further.

BrianT
- 23rd June 2008, 23:33
Directly driving the ADC is pretty simple. Here is a code snip from a PIC 18LF4620 job. This is for an 8 bit result. Change the ADCON2 definition for 10 bits.

GetECG: '
trisa.2 = 1
ADCON0 = %00001001 'Ch2 selected, Go/Done = 0, ADC ON
ADCON1 = %00001100 'VRef = Vdd, Vss, <2:0> analog
ADCON2 = %00111111 'Left just (=8 bit), ADacq time = 20 Tad, ADClk = RC
pauseus 50
ADCON0.1 = 1 'start conversion
ADCNotDone:
if adcon0.1 = 1 then adcnotdone
ecgval = adresh
if ecgval > MaxECG then MaxECG = ecgval ' find MAX
if ecgval < MinECG then MinECG = ecgval ' find MIN
'Turn ADC OFF
ADCON0 = %00000000 'AD OFF, Ch0 selected, Go/Done = 0
return

HTH
BrianT

buglow
- 28th June 2008, 21:49