PDA

View Full Version : display driver

Klaus
- 15th April 2008, 22:34
I was planning to use a 18F4550 to collect data from 24 bit counter/shiftregister and also enter data from keypad. I thought I could also use the additional I/O ports to drive 7 segment displays. However I want to provide the shift clock, counter gate and reset from the 4550. The counter gate is 1 second, so when all this is in a main program loop, I can't see how i can loop the display at the same time fast enough to refresh the display. I am not an experienced programmer and this is basically my first time trying to do something like this, so hopefully someone can give me some advice. I was thinking I could use a dedicated PIC just for the display, and go with a lesser processor than the 4550 for the other functions.
Klaus

mister_e
- 15th April 2008, 22:46
The main advantage of PIC over Stamp is their interrupt Feature, you can setup a background timer to refresh your display, scan your keypad while doing something else.

Do you have any schematic of your current design?

Klaus
- 15th April 2008, 23:06
File attached

mister_e
- 15th April 2008, 23:31
From what I feel, 74hct165 and 74hct404 could be removed the whole thing could be done in software. What's your "clock" signal looks like?

Timer interrupt to scan your keyboard and refresh your display... main loop to process your clock.

Klaus
- 15th April 2008, 23:35
It's a 6 MHz pulse. I'm displaying the change in frequency once per second. I did not think that the processor was fast enough to handle that.

mister_e
- 15th April 2008, 23:39
Oh yeah, so basically it's a kind of frequency counter? how much accuracy you need? What's the threshold (+/- 10Kz, +/- 1Mhz)?

Klaus
- 16th April 2008, 13:43