PDA

View Full Version : Pic Basic TouchScreen? How?



mindthomas
- 12th April 2008, 08:56
Hey.
I want to ask if some of you guys know anything to control a TouchScreen without using a ADC Chip, just the PIC A/D Inputs (I'm using PIC2550)

Hope you can help me out with my 4 wire TouchScreen :)

Best Regards
Thomas Jespersen

mister_e
- 12th April 2008, 10:13
Yes........
more details=more chance to have help. resistive, capacitive, UFO driven or what? Any model/brand ?

I got some from CircuitEd.

mindthomas
- 13th April 2008, 07:57
I don't want to buy it form CircuitED as the freight cost is so expensive as i live in Europe
But if it was cheaper (the freight) then i would like to buy the RGB GLCD With TouchScreen!

But i've found this instead, and it's from a shop in Europe, so it's perfect

This is the datasheet for the TouchScreen: http://www.mikroe.com/pdf/touch_screen_specification.pdf
And if you look at nearly the bottom of this page, you see
Graphic LCD 128x64 with TouchScreen | $24.00USD

Thank You

mister_e
- 13th April 2008, 09:28
Seems to be the same i have.. It's a Resistive one, the GLCD controller is this Grandpa KS0108.

The following could give you few hints...
http://www.hitachi-displays-eu.com/doc/AN-004_Resistive_Touch_Panel_Technology.pdf
http://www.eetindia.co.in/ARTICLES/2004DEC/A/2004DEC06_MSD_AN02.PDF?SOURCES=DOWNLOAD
http://www.monolitic.com/esp/Notas/t-screen_resistivo.pdf
http://www.sfcompiler.co.uk/wiki/pmwiki.php?n=SwordfishUser.TouchScreen

Acetronics2
- 13th April 2008, 09:47
Hi, Thomas

you,ve the "official" scheme on the MkE Databook for EasyPic boards...

Alain

mister_e
- 13th April 2008, 09:55
Yes but you really don't need all of those extra transistors, resistors, capacitors stuff...

If you carefully read and understand the documents above, you'll see how easy it is.

I think SteveB already post a code snip for that last year or so. I Haven't compared mine with his one yet.

One more
http://electronix.ru/forum/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=18229

Another one? Why not
http://www.circuitcellar.com/avr2004/wabstracts/A3786abstract.pdf

Acetronics2
- 13th April 2008, 10:07
Hi, Steve ...

When it works fine ... I consider the solution as GOOD !!!

No extra brain twist required ... LOL !

May be ... just have a better-than-genuine data acquisition ( just move stylus quickly, and you'll understand what I mean ... hé,hé ! )
May be ... also some better linearity enhancements ???

Alain

mister_e
- 13th April 2008, 10:07
:D yeah but where's the fun using copy/paste ? :D

Acetronics2
- 13th April 2008, 10:13
No need to re-build the world ... just enhance it gives enough work for everyone ... !!!

Alain

mindthomas
- 14th April 2008, 06:21
Seems to be the same i have.. It's a Resistive one, the GLCD controller is this Grandpa KS0108.

The following could give you few hints...
http://www.hitachi-displays-eu.com/doc/AN-004_Resistive_Touch_Panel_Technology.pdf
http://www.eetindia.co.in/ARTICLES/2004DEC/A/2004DEC06_MSD_AN02.PDF?SOURCES=DOWNLOAD
http://www.monolitic.com/esp/Notas/t-screen_resistivo.pdf
http://www.sfcompiler.co.uk/wiki/pmwiki.php?n=SwordfishUser.TouchScreen
The last one is the only with a code snippet, but it isn't in PBP!
but i will try and read all the documents, but i am not good at ADC in PBP ;-)

mindthomas
- 14th April 2008, 11:56
What does this do, and would it be easier to use a touchscreen if i buy this:
http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/touchcont/

mister_e
- 14th April 2008, 12:01
It's exactly the same draver as Alain's EasyPIC 5 board.

It may help.. but i stand to tell you don't need it.

mindthomas
- 14th April 2008, 12:15
It's exactly the same draver as Alain's EasyPIC 5 board.

It may help.. but i stand to tell you don't need it.

But if i don't buy that, i would need to make a circuit who are correcting the Touch Values into the 0-5V range, right?
But do you have a PBP Example, because you sounds like you know alot, as i don't!

mister_e
- 14th April 2008, 20:22
Begin with the following...

http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showpost.php?p=39644&postcount=7

Then send your results to your PC or any LCD, then try to understand what happen.

mindthomas
- 15th April 2008, 06:07
Begin with the following...

http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showpost.php?p=39644&postcount=7

Then send your results to your PC or any LCD, then try to understand what happen.

Then what if i use that touchscreen controller, then i shouldn't High any ports, should i?

mister_e
- 15th April 2008, 06:09
Yes, you'll still need to play with high/low, ADC conversion etc etc... hence why i told you that you don't need it.. even your new compiler haven't it built-in ;)

mindthomas
- 15th April 2008, 16:42
Yes, you'll still need to play with high/low, ADC conversion etc etc... hence why i told you that you don't need it.. even your new compiler haven't it built-in ;)
New Compiler?
But could you please look at this datasheet, and tell me what ports that should go to what (X+, X-, Y-, X- as there is in the PBP code, but this have some others)
http://www.mikroe.com/pdf/touchpanel_controller_schematic_v102.pdf

duncan303
- 15th April 2008, 16:50
But could you please look at this datasheet, and tell me what ports that should go to what ??????:eek:

skimask
- 15th April 2008, 16:53
But could you please look at this datasheet, and tell me what ports that should go to what
See your other thread of endless how-to posts...