PDA

View Full Version : new to 8 pin pic

hoyles
- 22nd February 2008, 16:44
i wrote the program below that runs fine on a 16f84a, but i would like to port it over to a 12f629. i have no experience with this pic chip at all. help would be greatly appreciated.

i use it to send a positive pulse to a 2-coil latching relay using the same pushbutton.

push button on ra0 and rb0 pulses a "1" for about 1/2 second.(turns relay on)
push button on ra0 and rb1 pulses a "1" for about 1/2 second.(turns relay off)

i would also like to add an option of holding the same pushbutton down for a longer period of time, first, pulsing 1/2 second on rb0 .(turns relay on) and then go into a timer mode of about one hour and then pulsing 1/2 second on rb1..(turns relay off)

existing 16f84a program:

b0 var Byte
pb0 var PORTA.0

TRISB = %00000000

loop:
If pb0 = 1 and b0 = 0 Then one
If pb0 = 1 And b0= 1 Then two
Goto loop

one:
high 0
b0 =1
pause 2
low 0
goto loop

two:
low 0
high 1
b0 =0
pause 2
low 1
goto loop

end

thanks, in advance

mike

skimask
- 22nd February 2008, 16:52
help would be greatly appreciated.
Help? greatly appreciated? Looks to me like you want somebody to write the program for you...

I think (ok, I know) you'll get a lot more response and assistance if you write a program that attempts to use the functions you wish to use, and the rest of us can HELP YOU look thru the code to figure out why it's not performing up to your expectations.

hoyles
- 22nd February 2008, 17:05
the program (under "existing program" line works fine.

i want to transfer it to a 12f629 and continue to use it (and, if possible, add a section to it that will act as a timer to keep the relay on until the time has expired, turning the relay off.

i'm not really proud of it, but i did write the code for the existing program.
i do not want anybody to do it for me, thus the word "help"

what is this forum for?
i just wanted to be pointed in the correct direction.

mike

skimask