PDA

View Full Version : MC Studio and 18F252

trust issues
- 28th October 2004, 20:01
Hi all, I'm trying to program a PIC 18F252 using MicroCode studio. I am new to PIC's in general but what I need help with in particular is naming the pins. How in the code do I refer to a particular pin? Like how would I get the code to scan to see if RA0 is high or low? or to output a high logic signal from RA1?
thanks in advance.

mister_e
- 28th October 2004, 20:06
Hi all, I'm trying to program a PIC 18F252 using MicroCode studio. I am new to PIC's in general but what I need help with in particular is naming the pins. How in the code do I refer to a particular pin? Like how would I get the code to scan to see if RA0 is high or low? or to output a high logic signal from RA1?
thanks in advance.

If you want to test status of a pin:

HighOrLow VAR BIT

HighOrLow=PORTA.0

The result is in the HighOrLow Variable

To send high level to RA1 use
PORTA.1=1
or
HIGH PORTA.1

To send low level
PORTA.1=0
or
LOW PORTA.1

Dwayne
- 28th October 2004, 21:09
Hello Trust Issues,

TI>>Hi all, I'm trying to program a PIC 18F252 using MicroCode studio. I am new to PIC's in general but what I need help with in particular is naming the pins.<<

Forgive me if I am wrong, or incorrect to make a quick guess here, but MicoCode Studio will not program your chip. I believe you still need Pic Basic Pro for your compiling and MPASM or other assembler loading program for your chip. MicoCode Studio is a "Shell" for PBP and your loader. Powerful shell at that.

the way I read your message, you are fairly new to PICS, and I didnt want you to think that MicroCode Studio was all you needed.

If I am incorrect on the above, will someone please set me straight? (I do not use MicroCode Studio) I have downloaded the "Lite" version, but gave up on it... It didn't support my chips... and I didn't want to spend more money on this shell.

Dwayne

example of simple pin checks and controls.

Pin1 Var GPIO.1
Pin2 Var GPIO.2