PDA

View Full Version : Don't know what's wrong!

PICante
- 19th December 2007, 17:50
Hi all,

Being a total greenhorn around microcontrollers and all that belongs to them I would appreciate a little help.
Problem: I don’t know where it goes wrong when I try to make my own hex file. I can put some readymade hex code into my 16F628A and get it to work, no problem. But a compiled hex file (PBP) made in MicroCode Studio Plus will not run in my 628A.
Can someone please point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Charles Linquis
- 19th December 2007, 18:12
Just a guess...

Make sure your configuration fuses are set properly. Especially the oscillator type.

PICante
- 19th December 2007, 18:18
Hi Charles,

Thanks for the suggestion but as I mentioned I am green and “configuration fuses” don’t say much to me! Sorry, can you try to explain what they are and where to set them…. I warned you I am a rookie! :-)

Ioannis
- 19th December 2007, 18:22
As always a program you wrote and a sample schematic are needed to help you.

Ioannis

PICante
- 19th December 2007, 18:49
Hi Ioannis,

Well the program is an example provided with the software compiled for 628A (I believe):

loop:
High 0 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTB.0
Pause 500 ' Delay for .5 seconds

Low 0 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTB.0

Goto loop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever
End

And the schematic is simple and the circuit works fine with “readymade” code so I guess its ok.

Thanks.

skimask
- 19th December 2007, 18:56
Hi Ioannis,
Well the program is an example provided with the software compiled for 628A (I believe):
loop:
High 0 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTB.0
Low 0 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTB.0
Goto loop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever
End
And the schematic is simple and the circuit works fine with “readymade” code so I guess its ok.
Thanks.

So that's the code that works. Can't help you with that...'cause...well...it works...