PDA

View Full Version : Does my code need tidying up?

davewanna
- 10th December 2007, 03:33
Hi all,

I'm very new to Pic's, but I have a PHP & MYSQL coding background, and a fair bit of basic coding quite a long time ago. Also I'm a plasma and LCD TV tech, so the electronics side of things isn't too much of a struggle yet.

My project below is going to control air-conditioning in my car, and also show some stats like batt voltage etc but is far from finished. So far I have the voltage measurement working right (and adjustable for different voltage divider networks via the 4 buttons and LCD)

Also the TPS (throttle position sensor) is adjustable for different cars (throttle low - press butdn, throttle high - press butup - it then scales to 0 - 100%)

working on air temperature, but only have a very non-linear sensor currently, and will get something nicer like the BS1820 (i think?) before I convert it to degrees. (butdn records the current voltage and sets it as minimum.)

This is really my first effort at pic programming and I am completely self-taught... Just wanted to get some opinions on if there is better ways of doing things... So far my code works fine but I feel it's quite 'messy'.

Ignore any PWM stuff for now I was just testing it on a small motor... I will get round to speed regulating the thermofan based on speed/temperature/etc later.

Also I should add I have a 2-line LCD in 4 bit mode hanging off a 16F877A

Thanks in advance.

bearpawz
- 17th December 2007, 16:39
At a first quick glance it looks ok. The only recomendation I would make is to put more documentation in the code with coments on what lines do what. It may seem to make sense at the moment, but a few years from now if you ever had to go back to it you will probably be scratching your head wondering what you were doing. (Been there, done that).

davewanna
- 18th December 2007, 01:12
Thanks bearpawz,