PDA

View Full Version : MicroCode Studio & WINPIC - fuses not set correctly



flotulopex
- 26th November 2007, 20:55
Hello,

If some of you use MicroCode Studio & WINPIC, maybe you can tell me how to set some fuses for a 16F88.

I can't set the HS_OSC fuse in MCS; doing so, WINPIC will stay in LP. But setting this fuse to INTRC_OSC_NOCLKOUT in MCS, WINPIC will accept it and set it accordingly.

What's the trouble?

Furthermore, trying to set both FCMEN_OFF and IESO_OFF won't work. WINPIC will always show them as Enabled.
<table border=0><tr><td><img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2155&stc=1&d=1196109976"></td><td>
<img src="http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=2154&stc=1&d=1196109976"></td></tr></table>

GrandPa
- 26th November 2007, 21:59
Hi,


I've got some strange behavior from Winpic too. Actually, I'm using both winpic and winpic 800 (www.winpic800.com) depending of which PIC I'm programming. This may sound strange but I think that you should give a try to winpic800. For me winpic is better with PIC18F4620 while winpic800 is good for PIC18F4331.

J-P

mister_e
- 26th November 2007, 23:07
There's always good reason why stuff like those above are free... How about stop wasting your precious time and waste <$50 to buy a decent programmer such as PICKIT 2 ?

Now you can launch it within MCS
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showpost.php?p=46071&postcount=4

flotulopex
- 27th November 2007, 16:33
Hello Mister_e,

I do actually have a PicKit2...

Why do I continue to use WINPIC and my programmer then?

I use the "connect target" functionality of WINPIC. At the start of the programming process, WINPIC will activate a relay on the programmer connecting all wires physically to the PIC. After the "burning" process is done, WINPIC disconnects all wires from the PIC.

This is very usefull when making lots of programmig tests.

Can I achieve this with my PicKit2 too? If yes, how?

mister_e
- 28th November 2007, 01:00
mmm, As long as a ICSP implementation is impossible/not safe, which is possible, i see probably 2 way,
1) alter the PicKit Code to add an output :eek:
2) do a dedicated application which will do it for you (toggle whatever pin on the serial port DTR or else, launch PICKIT 2 command line, toggle PIN again)

but yeah, this require a little programming on the PC side. Interesting option so far.

i didn't trace the PICKIT output sequence, maybe there's way to do it and don't alter the timing... something to work on one day i guess.

GrandPa
- 28th November 2007, 23:58
I use the "connect target" functionality of WINPIC. At the start of the programming process, WINPIC will activate a relay on the programmer connecting all wires physically to the PIC. After the "burning" process is done, WINPIC disconnects all wires from the PIC.



Hummm, using a bootloader may be more appropriate in this cas, don't you think?

J-P

flotulopex
- 29th November 2007, 12:18
In the PicKit2's shema, I can see i.e. that pin18 is not used.

How difficult would it be for a programmer to add a kind of "connect target" function in the program?

It should just pull a port high half a second before starting the burning process and go back low at the end.

The programmer's software is available here (http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/PICkit2PCAppSourceV2_40.zip).

I'll need a second life to learn C+...

NB: does this make maybe sense to open a new thread for this kind of requests?