PDA

View Full Version : PIC18F4525 & LCD simple code problem

aggie007
- 2nd November 2007, 00:53
Hi,

I am new to any kind of programming and I am using PicBasic Pro to program PIC18F4525. I am hooking up the PIC to a parallel LCD screen which has HD44780 controller (16X2). I am just trying to test the connection and the working of the LCD by writing a code which displays a one line test statement. I am using Micro Code Studio.

The LCD screen is not displaying the message I want it to and remains blank. I know this is a very minor issue, but I am doing this stuff for the first time !!!

The LCD is connected to 4 pins of the PIC, since it is in 4 bit mode.

Please help me out with this....I would really appreciate it !!!

Here is the code -

DEFINE OSC 20

'******Setting up the LCD display******

DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 7
DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_EBIT 6
DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
DEFINE LCD_LINES 2
'DEFINE LCD_COMMANDUS 2000
'DEFINE LCD_DATAUS 50

TRISB=0

LCDOUT $FE, 1
LCDOUT "PIC - LCD Test "
LCDOUT $FE, $C0

STOP

END

BrianT
- 2nd November 2007, 02:31
With the LCDs I use, (Taiwanese) they will not work without a contrast resistor. This can be a single resistor about 10k (needs experiment) from the contrast pin to ground. Preferably use a pot with the ends between +5 and ground with the wiper to the contrast pin.

Otherwise the screen will remain totally blank.

HTH
Brian

Archangel
- 2nd November 2007, 05:22
Hello aggie007,
BrianT is right on target with his post, I would also put a pause of about 1/2 second to 1 second before the first lcdout command to give the LCD time to initialise.

savnik
- 2nd November 2007, 05:52
'******Setting up the LCD display******

DEFINE LCD_DREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4
DEFINE LCD_RSREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_RSBIT 7
DEFINE LCD_EREG PORTB
DEFINE LCD_EBIT 6
DEFINE LCD_BITS 4
DEFINE LCD_LINES 2

DEFINE LCD_DBIT 4 Mean PORTB4-PORTB7
and you use the same pins for RSBIT 7 and EBIT 6