PDA

View Full Version : Problem with manchester code for RF



Dhanushka
- 4th August 2007, 17:42
Hi everybody,
I want to use manchester encode for RF data communication. Coz I heard it will not affected by noises when using such modules. My RF module is 315MHz module its data sheet tells that its range 80m. But it works poperly for 2m for data transmission. Beyond that it works with large noise.

please tell me weather it is advantageous or not.

Pesticida
- 4th August 2007, 18:32
Hi,

Every RF Module need a good Ground and a good Antenna! did you have near your RF Module other Transmitter ?
RF Phone,RF Headsset....

Regard Pesti

dhouston
- 4th August 2007, 18:33
Hi everybody,
I want to use manchester encode for RF data communication. Coz I heard it will not affected by noises when using such modules. My RF module is 315MHz module its data sheet tells that its range 80m. But it works poperly for 2m for data transmission. Beyond that it works with large noise.

please tell me weather it is advantageous or not.

Manchester encoding is not immune from noise but does have built-in error detection.

You haven't indicated just which RF modules you are using but most of the low cost modules use OOK (On-Off Keying) and a superregenerative receiver. The range spec given is usually based on free air line-of-sight. Typical range indoors will be about 20-25% of that if you are using an efficient antenna on the receiving end.

In the absence of a strong signal it is the nature of superregenerative receivers to output continuous noise.

For small amounts of data, I prefer to use the NEC protocol which has a fairly long initial pulse to set the receiver AGC and then transmits two payload bytes with built-in error checking.

I have posted example code for transmitting and receiving in the Code Examples forum http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=6261

Dhanushka
- 5th August 2007, 03:56
Hi dhouston and all,
I'm using ASK RF module, which is similar to dhouston's "http://davehouston.net/modules.htm" list. its antenna 18cm long
wire for both transmitter and receiver. No any other transmitter or some thing operate nearby.

Thanks for your example thread, I'll try using that NEC protocol.

Dhanushka

mackrackit
- 5th August 2007, 05:35
The distance problem is most likely from the wrong antenna length.

315 MHz requires a 22.619 cm antenna. 1/4 wave length. And yes, a couple of cm will make a very big difference.

The 1/4 wave antenna needs to be worked against a ground plane.

dhouston
- 5th August 2007, 12:30
Hi dhouston and all,
I'm using ASK RF module, which is similar to dhouston's "http://davehouston.net/modules.htm" list. its antenna 18cm long
wire for both transmitter and receiver. No any other transmitter or some thing operate nearby.
ASK and OOK are essentially the same. The noise issue is illustrated here...http://davehouston.net/rf-noise.htm
It's easy to use your PC soundcard as a storage oscilloscope to view the receiver output. See...http://davehouston.net/learn.htm
As mackrackit has noted, something around 22-23cm antenna length will work best for 315MHz. The exact length is more critical for the transmitter than the receiver but cutting both to the appropriate length works best.

Dave
- 5th August 2007, 22:38
dhouston, How can you say: Manchester encoding is not immune from noise but does have built-in error detection. What is the "built-in error detection"? This is news to me as I write software for Tire Pressure Monitoring equipment which uses Manchester coding. Please explain.....

Dave Purola,
N8NTA

dhouston
- 5th August 2007, 23:08
dhouston, How can you say: Manchester encoding is not immune from noise but does have built-in error detection. What is the "built-in error detection"? This is news to me as I write software for Tire Pressure Monitoring equipment which uses Manchester coding. Please explain.....

If you don't see a change of state at the middle of a bit period, you've detected an error which is usually the result of noise if you are using it over a wireless link or a collision if you're using it over a wired link (e.g. 802.3, X-10). See the last paragraph at http://www.wildpackets.com/support/compendium/ethernet/signal_encoding.

Dave
- 5th August 2007, 23:18
dhouston, I call that type if "error detection" signal integrity, not error detection. You could have a noise source producing edge changes at the same rate as the baud rate you are trying to detect. Where is the error detection then?

Dave Purola,
N8NTA

dhouston
- 5th August 2007, 23:39
dhouston, I call that type if "error detection" signal integrity, not error detection. You could have a noise source producing edge changes at the same rate as the baud rate you are trying to detect. Where is the error detection then?
Call it what you like. I'll call it what it is.

dhouston
- 6th August 2007, 00:28
You could have a noise source producing edge changes at the same rate as the baud rate you are trying to detect. Where is the error detection then?And where is the error if no low state gets changed to a high state?

Dave
- 6th August 2007, 11:46
dhouston, Try deciphering 1 individual transmission of 128 data bits (256 states) with 4 or more transmitters being keyed at the same time.... The data states at the receiver might look good but what about the actual data..... Like I said... Signal integrity

Dave Purola,
N8NTA