PDA

View Full Version : PIC16F84A EEPROM problems

The Master
- 10th June 2007, 22:56
Hi, ive been searching google for about 3 hours now but still not found the answer.

My code needs to read/write a single byte on EEPROM. When i use the read command i get a weird value returned (usually 127, i have no idea where that comes from) and when i use write the chip resets ifself.

I'm new to using EEPROM but it looked simple till i tried to use it

Heres a cut down sample of my program

taddress var byte
taddress=20
write 0,taddress

skimask
- 10th June 2007, 23:10
Heres a cut down sample of my program

taddress var byte
taddress=20
write 0,taddress

That code snip really doesn't tell us anything. Post the whole thing. You've got a DEFINE wrong somewhere, maybe some conflicting interrupts, who knows...
Maybe change the handle from 'The Master' to 'Maybe the Master in the Future, but for now, I can't get a simple EEPROM write to work'...

fazan83
- 11th June 2007, 05:27
That code snip really doesn't tell us anything. Post the whole thing. You've got a DEFINE wrong somewhere, maybe some conflicting interrupts, who knows...
Maybe change the handle from 'The Master' to 'Maybe the Master in the Future, but for now, I can't get a simple EEPROM write to work'...

Maybe he is master in other field.

The Master
- 11th June 2007, 07:58
Maybe he is master in other field.

too right :P thats my name on other forums. just keeping it the same. im good at VB6 etc

ive not defined anything so far and ive not got any interrupts. the example i saw on the net didnt say to define anything

http://www.microengineeringlabs.com/resources/samples/pbc/ee.bas

everything else in the program works fine. all the serin/serout if then elses etc. its just read/write that dont work

The Master
- 11th June 2007, 20:08
righty. now im at home i can give you th full code. i made an new test program and it still doesnt work

trisa=%00000000
trisb=%00000000

t1 var byte

high portb.0
pause 100
low portb.0