PDA

View Full Version : Need some experienced advice

bill12780
- 7th June 2007, 17:43
Hello all,
This is my first post on this fine forum. I have been registered for some time and have been reading when I could in preperation of a up comming project.

A little about me...I am an Electroincs Technician by training but I work as a engineer because of my 20+ years of experience.

Its been MANY years ago that I first purchased PBP. I have played with it but never did any real development. I am also a Basic freak! I am VERY familar with writing programs for the PC in Basic.

My question is simple. There are literally HUNDREDS of different PIC chips out now. The project I have been asigned is a Keypad that controls a simple Motor controller circuit. So I don't need any fancy ADC or PWM features. What is a good solid chip that is cheap (comparable to the atmel chips) that will work for me.

Now I know this is a tall order. I am just hoping that someone off the top of their head has some advise on were to start on this.

Also, has anyone taken the course on Pbasic offered by RCG Research Inc? (I don't know if I can put a link here with out getting in trouble. So just google it you will find it.)

I would intrested to hear of anyone experience with them.

Thanks for any and all help....

Once I get my feet wet I will help as around here as much as I can.

Bill12780

skimask
- 7th June 2007, 17:46
Hello all,
This is my first post on this fine forum. I have been registered for some time and have been reading when I could in preperation of a up comming project.
A little about me...I am an Electroincs Technician by traning but I work as a engineer because of my 20+ years of experience.
Its been MANY years ago that I first purchased PBP. I have played with it but never did any real development. I am also a Basic freak! I am VERY familar with writing programs for the PC in Basic.