PDA

View Full Version : Timeout function

johnmiller
- 7th May 2007, 09:47
hi

i am a beginner in pic programming with picbasic.
I am wondering if there is any way I can make a function timeout after 1 second. Here is the code that I tried (on a PIC18F458):

DEFINE OSC 20

TIME_COUNTER VAR WORD
INTCON = 0
TIME_COUNTER = 0

While In_STB=1
IF INTCON.2 = 1 THEN
INTCON.2 = 0
TIME_COUNTER = TIME_COUNTER + 1
ENDIF
IF TIME_COUNTER > PRESET THEN GOTO DataDone
Wend

I am not really interested to be 1 second (it can be >0.9 & < 2) somewhere in that interval. Any input is apreciated

sayzer
- 7th May 2007, 11:14
Why not "PAUSE 1000" ?

---------------------

johnmiller
- 7th May 2007, 11:31
I need it to wait in the WHILE In_STB=1 state (that's the clock of my data) and it's in a 1 state always (as soon as it drops I need to read the data) that's why I need a timeout function out of the while

T.Jackson
- 7th May 2007, 11:32
Properly doing the job would involve the use of one of the PIC's internal timers. TMRO could be used, load it with a value and let it overflow a few times. Possibly the best person to help you with this would be Darrel. I think he might have some good code that's directly applicable in this area. In fact, the code that you already have
looks remarkably like a working timeout proc ;)
<br/>

sayzer
- 7th May 2007, 12:02
Once In_STB = 0 then you might have had half a second passed not a full second.

Or, if a full second is passed and you are in DataDone, then you might still have had In_STB = 1; then you come back immediately (possibly).

Or, having a timer module running inside a WHILE statement will keep you and your Timer module locked in that WHILE statement. Thus, having a "PAUSE 1000" will do the same job for you cause the statement is locked anyway.

--------------------------

T.Jackson
- 7th May 2007, 12:17