PDA

View Full Version : Keypad and DT's Instant Interrupts



Homerclese
- 25th April 2007, 22:06
DOH! I had a detailed question but it got cleared. So here's the short-short version.

Has enybody included a 4x4 keypad routine in with DT's instant interrupts? It would most likely use port B change to trigger. I found forum references to keypad and interrupts but since I'm using the elapsed timer routine anyway I think I should stick with the "instant interrupts" technique. Can it be done with a change in variable value?



(Flanders hippie dad) "We tried nothing, and nothing ain't working"?

mister_e
- 25th April 2007, 22:13
You can still use a Timer interrupt with my KEYPAD.BAS routine. Just use the DEFINE SCAN_ONCE 1 in your settings.

Thread:
http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=3250

i've attach the latest version... just in case of.

Homerclese
- 26th April 2007, 06:01
Thanks for the quick response.
I have tried the code and it works. However there is an issue. I have a 4x4 setup but it acts like a 4x3 keypad. I can get digits 1 through 12. If I change the define as below to 4 col then nothing works. Im still checking but I think this is the same hardware setup I had before and it worked as a 4x4. Any suggestions?

TRISB = %11110000 'PortB first four bits outputs second four bits inputs

include "KeyPad.bas"

DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW 4 ' 4 ROW keypad
DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW_PORT PORTB ' ROW port = PORTB
DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW_BIT 4 ' ROW0 = PORTB.4
'DEFINE KEYPAD_COL 3 ' 3 COL keypad
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL 4 ' 4 COL keypad
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_PORT PORTB ' COL port = PORTB
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT 1 ' COL0 = PORTB.1
DEFINE KEYPAD_DEBOUNCEMS 20 ' debounce delay = 20 50 mSec
DEFINE SCAN_ONCE 1

OPTION_REG.7=0 ' Enable internal crap pull-up :D
ADCON1=7 ' disable ADCs
PORTB = 0 '

ByteA var byte '

mister_e
- 26th April 2007, 15:42
mmm, it's working here as suppose to. Using your code above on a 16F877, i tried with...


<font color="#000000"> @ __CONFIG _XT_OSC &amp; _LVP_OFF

<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;C:\PBP_PROG\INCLUDE_ROUTINES\KeyPad.bas&quot;
<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;c:\PBP_PROG\EASYPIC4\LCD4.bas&quot;

<font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW 4 <font color="#008000">' 4 ROW keypad
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW_PORT PORTB <font color="#008000">' ROW port = PORTB
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW_BIT 4 <font color="#008000">' ROW0 = PORTB.4
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL 3 <font color="#008000">' 4 COL keypad
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL_PORT PORTB <font color="#008000">' COL port = PORTB
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL_BIT 1 <font color="#008000">' COL0 = PORTB.0
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_DEBOUNCEMS 20 <font color="#008000">' debounce delay = 20 50 mSec
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>SCAN_ONCE 1

OPTION_REG.7=0 <font color="#008000">' Enable internal crap pull-up

</font>ByteA <font color="#000080">VAR BYTE

PAUSE </font>500
<font color="#000080">LCDOUT </font>$FE,1,&quot;PRESS ANY KEY&quot;

Start:
@ READKEYPAD _ByteA
<font color="#000080">IF </font>ByteA <font color="#000080">THEN
LCDOUT </font>$FE,$C0,<font color="#000080">REP </font>&quot; &quot;\2,$FE,$C0, <font color="#000080">DEC </font>ByteA
<font color="#000080">ENDIF

GOTO </font>Start


make sure you have disable the LVP mode and there's no faulty I/Os

Homerclese
- 26th April 2007, 15:52
I will check further. I am using the f877 pic. Note that I tried changing this line to "4". Is that wrong?

DEFINE KEYPAD_COL 3 ' 4 COL keypad

Looking at it now I realize that its probably 0 to 3 which is 4 states or columns. So the above line should stay as it is?

mister_e
- 26th April 2007, 16:09
using the previous but changing KEYPAD_ROW or KEYPAD_COL number it always work for me. Yeah, even a 1X1 keypad work... wooohoo how handy it is :D

Now, using a TIMER0 interrupt and DT-INT14, it looks like

<font color="#000000"> @ __CONFIG _XT_OSC &amp; _LVP_OFF

<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;C:\PBP_PROG\INCLUDE_ROUTINES\KeyPad.bas&quot;
<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;c:\PBP_PROG\EASYPIC4\LCD4.bas&quot;
<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;C:\PBP_PROG\INCLUDE_ROUTINES\DT_INTS-14.bas&quot;
<font color="#000080">INCLUDE </font>&quot;C:\PBP_PROG\INCLUDE_ROUTINES\ReEnterPBP.bas&quot;

<font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW 4 <font color="#008000">' 4 ROW keypad
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW_PORT PORTB <font color="#008000">' ROW port = PORTB
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_ROW_BIT 4 <font color="#008000">' ROW0 = PORTB.4
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL 3 <font color="#008000">' 4 COL keypad
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL_PORT PORTB <font color="#008000">' COL port = PORTB
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_COL_BIT 1 <font color="#008000">' COL0 = PORTB.0
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>KEYPAD_DEBOUNCEMS 20 <font color="#008000">' debounce delay = 20 50 mSec
</font><font color="#000080">DEFINE </font>SCAN_ONCE 1


<font color="#000080">ASM
INT_LIST macro
INT_Handler TMR0_INT, _TMR0Interrupt, PBP, yes
endm
INT_CREATE
ENDASM

</font>OPTION_REG=%00000100 <font color="#008000">' Enable weak-pull ups
</font> <font color="#008000">' Prescaler assigned to Timer0
</font> <font color="#008000">' rate 1:32

</font>ByteA <font color="#000080">VAR BYTE
</font>TMR0IF <font color="#000080">VAR </font>INTCON.2

<font color="#000080">PAUSE </font>500
<font color="#000080">LCDOUT </font>$FE,1,&quot;PRESS ANY KEY&quot;

@ INT_ENABLE TMR0_INT

Start:
<font color="#000080">IF </font>ByteA <font color="#000080">THEN
LCDOUT </font>$FE,$C0,<font color="#000080">REP </font>&quot; &quot;\2,$FE,$C0, <font color="#000080">DEC </font>ByteA
<font color="#000080">ENDIF
GOTO </font>Start


TMR0Interrupt:
@ READKEYPAD _ByteA
TMR0=0
@ INT_RETURN

and it's still working.

do a I/O test with LEDs and push button to see if there's any faulty.

KEYPAD_COL 3 really set the KeyPAd to 3 column, DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT 1 will imply you're connected to PORTB.1, PORTB.2, PORTB.3

same for rows, DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW 4, 4 rows, DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW_BIT 4, so PORTB.4, PORTB.5, PORTB.6 and PORTB.7.

Homerclese
- 26th April 2007, 18:54
The problem is that PORTB.0 not detecting

I swapped B.o and B.1 keypad lines - problem remains with B.0

Changed to another 16f877 chip - problem remains with B.0

I noticed your last post about
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT ' COL 1 = PORTB.1.


I am connected to PORTB pins 0 through 3. I had the setting above and changed it to:
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT 0 ' COL0 = PORTB.0

PORTB.0 now works but B.3 now does not.
It's like I'm scanning only 3 bits

mister_e
- 26th April 2007, 19:09
0-3 is 4 bits, so you have to configure to 4 COLUMNs.

maybe 4 colums and 3 row now?

on the other hand my comments in the code above are not right... sorry :(

for a whole 4X4 keypad it should be

DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW 4 ' 4 ROW keypad
DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW_PORT PORTB ' ROW port = PORTB
DEFINE KEYPAD_ROW_BIT 4 ' ROW0 = PORTB.4
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL 4 ' 4 COL keypad
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_PORT PORTB ' COL port = PORTB
DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT 0 ' COL0 = PORTB.0
DEFINE KEYPAD_DEBOUNCEMS 20 ' debounce delay = 20 mSec
DEFINE SCAN_ONCE 1

i have this setup on a EASYPIC4 board and their 4X4 keypad like this
http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/keypad/images/keypad_400.jpg
http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/keypad/images/keypad_connected.jpg
And using the internal pull-up.

their keypad schematic is bellow
http://www.mikroe.com/pdf/keypad_board_schematic.pdf

Homerclese
- 26th April 2007, 19:56
Corrected to:

DEFINE KEYPAD_COL 4 ' 4 COL keypad (0-3)

DEFINE KEYPAD_COL_BIT 0 ' COL 0 = PORTB.0 (wires start at PORTB bit 0)

Keypad is now working properly.

Many thanks for your attention and efforts.

Darrel Taylor
- 26th April 2007, 22:57
Cool!

Highlighted Code.
Instant Interrupt Examples.
And the solution to a problem with DT in the title. :)

I think I'll just sit back and enjoy life for awhile. :D
<br>

Homerclese
- 27th April 2007, 00:12
I have noticed that the keypad display output occurs on the release of the keypress. The setup I have which is like a "musical chairs" type of game requires variable index capture of the first player to be detected on "keypress". Can I change this?
Also, in my old kepad routine I would lockout a team of 4 players who jumped the gun by removing that column from the scan, bit 0 in the example portion below.

If penaltyflagA = 0 then ' good start
PortB=%00001111
butn = butn +4
Goto PlayerB ' Pull the first row line LOW
Else ' penalty for this player
PortB=%00001110 ' remove this col from keypad scan for round

Where is the best place in this keypad code to do the same?

mister_e
- 27th April 2007, 06:32
Cool!

Highlighted Code.
Instant Interrupt Examples.
And the solution to a problem with DT in the title. :)

I think I'll just sit back and enjoy life for awhile. :D


<table><tr><td>Yeah, everything in the same post... but... hum hum, you forgot Macro and INCLUDE :which i'm now converted to... it's all your fault </td><td>http://www.mister-e.org/Pics/biggrincat.jpg</td></tr></table>

Homer, can you post your whole code?