PDA

View Full Version : PIC18F2550 Newbie

JeffnDana
- 24th April 2007, 15:19
I'm quite new to microcontrollers, but have completed a successful project on a PIC16F628A. I need to eventually have USB capability and want to learn the PIC18F2550. To start simply, I wired a circuit with an LED and used a 20Mhz crystal with the following code:

DEFINE OSC 20

loop:
High PORTA.0 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTA.0
Pause 500 ' Delay for .5 seconds

Low PORTA.0 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTA.0

Goto loop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever
End

This works but the LED blinks twice as fast as it should. I haven't yet run across anything in the Datasheet that would account for this. I'm sure I'm missing something simple. Any input is appreciated.

Thanks,
Jeff

skimask
- 24th April 2007, 15:42
I'm quite new to microcontrollers, but have completed a successful project on a PIC16F628A. I need to eventually have USB capability and want to learn the PIC18F2550. To start simply, I wired a circuit with an LED and used a 20Mhz crystal with the following code:
define OSC 20
loop:
High PORTA.0 ' Turn on LED connected to PORTA.0
Low PORTA.0 ' Turn off LED connected to PORTA.0
Goto loop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever
End
This works but the LED blinks twice as fast as it should. I haven't yet run across anything in the Datasheet that would account for this. I'm sure I'm missing something simple. Any input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Jeff

Is it running 2x as fast as it should be or 2.4x as fast as it should be?

rhino
- 24th April 2007, 15:59
Try DEFINE capitalized.

skimask
- 24th April 2007, 16:36
Try DEFINE capitalized.

GOOD call!
I was going for the misconfigured PLL myself...but yours is much better...

JeffnDana
- 24th April 2007, 17:15
Actually, in my code DEFINE is capitalized. Sorry for that, not sure why it isn't capitalized in my post.

rhino
- 24th April 2007, 19:33