PDA

View Full Version : Writing to an SD Card/PIC18F2480

divisionbyzorro
- 16th March 2007, 17:45
Hello all!

I'm an uber newbie here, so bear with me. For my senior design project at Texas A&M University, we're trying to build a circuit that will receive messages from a CAN network and write those messages to some sort of external device which can be interfaced with a PC. We're currently trying to write to an SD card, but we're having pretty much zero luck with it so far.

So I'm looking for any help I can with writing a program that will write files to an SD card in a FAT16 or FAT32 file system so that I can simply plug it into my SD card reader and get the information to my PC. I'd also like any information on how to build the circuit to do this; can I simply connect my PIC outputs to the SD card leads and use SPI to talk to the card? Or will I need some sort of external device to aid in this interface?

Thanks,
Sam

skimask
- 17th March 2007, 04:30
Hello all!

I'm an uber newbie here, so bear with me. For my senior design project at Texas A&M University, we're trying to build a circuit that will receive messages from a CAN network and write those messages to some sort of external device which can be interfaced with a PC. We're currently trying to write to an SD card, but we're having pretty much zero luck with it so far.

So I'm looking for any help I can with writing a program that will write files to an SD card in a FAT16 or FAT32 file system so that I can simply plug it into my SD card reader and get the information to my PC. I'd also like any information on how to build the circuit to do this; can I simply connect my PIC outputs to the SD card leads and use SPI to talk to the card? Or will I need some sort of external device to aid in this interface?

Thanks,
Sam

Oh boy....another 'SENIOR PROJECT'....