PDA

View Full Version : mpasm



jcleaver
- 11th February 2007, 14:40
any books or info on useing mpasm as a assembler
i am using mcs+ and pbp 2.46
and have gotten several working programs and some copies of others to work

should leave well enough alone

however when i try to set up this assembler i get success but also too many
errors mainly 113 and 115 this accurs no matter what the program is

just would like to see whats accuring

thanks

mister_e
- 11th February 2007, 14:52
In MPLAB you'll find the information on these error Click Help > Topics >> Language Tools >>> MPASM assembler Then finnaly MPASM Assembler > Errors, Warning, Messages, and Limitations

You can still download the MPASM manual
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/DeviceDoc/33014J.pdf

And look at PART 1, Chapter 8.

I still think you have some corrupted files in your MPLAB installation. Remove it, then install V 7.50
http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en019469&part=SW007002

If the MicroCode Studio installation is not corrupted, you just have to check Use MPASM. I have all other option checked as well and use INHX8M format.

Actual setup

PBP V 2.47
MPLAB 7.50
MPASM 5.06
MicroCode Studio PLUS 2.2.1.1

jcleaver
- 11th February 2007, 14:55
have downloaded newest ver even installed pbp and mcs on a different pc

still get goofey errors

if something is corrupt must be my pbp

mister_e
- 11th February 2007, 15:00
Do you have those errors on ALL PIC models?
Just to make sure... you have those ONLY when you're using MPASM but everything is just fine when using PM?

jcleaver
- 11th February 2007, 15:10
yes get these errors nomater what pic or what program i am trying
to compile does not occur when i uncheck mpasm
seems to have something to do with the inc files acording to manual
but its out of my knowledge base (limited)

mister_e
- 11th February 2007, 15:22
Well, if you have installed the latest MPASm version and remove the old one before, itès no longer a MPASm problem... or i misunderstand something obvious once again.

Might be your PBP... bah an update to 2.47 could be usefull one day or another.

Bruce
- 11th February 2007, 15:58
Did you install the latest version of 'MPLAB', or just the MPASM assembler?

jcleaver
- 11th February 2007, 20:05
bruce
downloaded mplabs latest ver and installed and restarted computer

file mpasm.exe does not exist now dont know how to get this file back on my machine expect to reload and wanted to try something new

any suguestions would be appreicated

jcleaver
- 11th February 2007, 20:09
acording to microchip i should be using mpasmwin.exe
how to i get pbp or mcs whichever is looking for a assempler to use.this

only me?

BobK
- 11th February 2007, 23:17
Hi Jack,

In Microcode Studio, click on View then Compile & Program Options then Assembler. Click on MPASM. MCS should find where MPASM is on your hard drive and that should be it.

BobK

jcleaver
- 12th February 2007, 01:16
bob i wish it was
from what i have read the program structure is different with pb
or mpasm guess because i can use pb i will leave well enough alone
just dont understand why even the simplest programs do not assembe without errors using mpasm

thanks for your time will keep looking at posts

Bruce
- 12th February 2007, 03:10
If you accepted the default install directory on drive C, you should find the
assembler in C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPASM Suite\MPASMWIN.exe

Use the find manually option in MCS to locate it.

jcleaver
- 12th February 2007, 03:18
found file using the latest ver mpasmwin but still get errors using this assembler
on any programs i have
can some attach a link to a small program that should assemble using mpasm
that way i could eliminate some thing even simple program like blink pbp samples give many errors

Bruce
- 12th February 2007, 03:23
Try the simple blink LED example in your PBP samples directory.

What error does it return (if any)?

jcleaver
- 12th February 2007, 04:01
bruce
i got the onewire temp program to compile and assemble properly
so i can use the info to find whats wrong

there must be something about how these programs were complied origanally that makes them unable to compile using mpasm


???/ question even though program works fine and temp changes readings are
way off any ideas? using da18s20

thanks for your help
jack

malc-c
- 12th February 2007, 09:54
Through the guidance of the guys here, I found that when using MPSAM to compile a PBP program you often get awarning about overwriting settings. The fix is to open up the INC file for the target PIC in the PBP directory and rem out the config line.

EG


;************************************************* ***************
;* 16F628A.INC *
;* *
;* By : Leonard Zerman, Jeff Schmoyer *
;* Notice : Copyright (c) 2003 microEngineering Labs, Inc. *
;* All Rights Reserved *
;* Date : 11/06/03 *
;* Version : 2.45 *
;* Notes : *
;************************************************* ***************
NOLIST
ifdef PM_USED
LIST
include 'M16F62xA.INC' ; PM header
device pic16F628A, xt_osc, wdt_on, mclr_on, lvp_off, protect_off
XALL
NOLIST
else
LIST
LIST p = 16F628A, r = dec, w = -302
INCLUDE "P16F628A.INC" ; MPASM Header
; __config _XT_OSC & _WDT_ON & _MCLRE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF
NOLIST
endif
LIST