PDA

View Full Version : Programming TMR0 Interrupt in PICBasic

emavil
- 30th August 2006, 02:06
Hi. I really had a hard time understanding the TMR0 interrupt of PIC16F84A (4MHz crystal). I'm using PICBasic. Is there anyone who could give just a simple demonstration on how to program interrupts, including the prescaler configurations. I'm building a simple digital clock with 6 multiplexed CA 7-segment displays, with 3 buttons. I'm very much curious about the accuracy of the clock, especially the 1 second generation. What is the right refresh rate of the 7-segments? Which part of the program do I have to process the incrementing of seconds, minutes & hours?

RussMartin
- 30th August 2006, 06:45
I can't say much about the PIC side of the question, since I'm new to them (or they're new to me), but, assuming you're talking about multiplexing 6 separate 7-segment LED displays (and assuming I understood your question correctly), I think you need to refresh them at about 30 Hz.

Russ

ra68gi
- 6th September 2006, 16:14
Hi ,
I have done a similar RTC with 89c2051 microcontroller using BASCOM compiler. Its a basic compiler for the 8051 core. The clk will display seconds minutes and hours on 6 seven segment display, which are multiplixed and i have not used any driver/ latch ics. I have used timer0 in mode2( 8 bit auto reload). i have also provided 2 switches to set hours and minutes.
If you are interested let me know.
Free Demo version of bascom is available with which you can write upto 2k code. The clk program took around 1300 words if i remember it right.
Raghunathan

paul borgmeier
- 6th September 2006, 17:06
Although it does not use LEDs, I posted clock code that keeps excellent time (without the need for a RTC) based on TMRO here

http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=2129

You could use the time keeping part of the code for your clock time and change the display updates as required for your LED display. Reply back if you need more information.

sayzer