PDA

View Full Version : Serial comm - are 2 wires for TX only enough?

flotulopex
- 27th August 2006, 17:56
Hello,

I use the BASIC-STAMP prof dev board equipped with a RS232DCE chip and have my PIC connected with 2 wires (GND and RA1 with RS232's "TX" pin).

Then I send some text data by pressing a button (I use the INT on RB0). The Led lets me know when the transmission starts and stops so I can double-check on the terminal's screen.

The terminal is set to 9600 Bauds, no parity, 8 bits and 1 stop bit.

I can see bytes received (the counter increments) in the terminal screen but I cannot see any caracter apearing on the screen.

Since I'm new to PICs, I don't use the USART features of the 16F88 at that time.

What am I doing wrong?

This is the code.

MAIN:

IF INTCON.1 = 1 then 'If INT happens, then...
INTCON.1 = 0 'Clear INTERRUPT
HIGH Portb.4 'Switch on Led - start transmission
SEROUT2 Porta.1, 84, ["TEST", 10, 13] 'Print this text in the terminal screen
LOW Portb.4 'Switch off Led - stop transmission
ENDIF

GOTO MAIN

END

Dave
- 27th August 2006, 19:29
flotulopex, What terminal emulator program are you using? Assuming you are using a 4Mhz. oscillator and some kind of inverting RS-232 driver you should be seeing the string being sent. I would first make sure the terminal emulator program is set for the correct baud rate. If the terminal emulator program is receiving any characters, even at the wrong baudrate you will be detecting some kind of count.

Dave Purola,
N8NTA

flotulopex
- 27th August 2006, 20:49
Hi Dave,

I use de Micro Code Studio's terminal.

Changing the baudrate will sometimes make strange symbols apear (like @#%&/...).

In any case, the received bytes count is 22 when sending the "TEST" message.

I set the PIC to work with the internal RC (don't know if I have to set something else) in the CONFIG word (=IntRC).

Isn't it necessary to have some kind of clock to synchronise the PIC with the terminal?

Is there something wrong with my code?