PDA

View Full Version : Structuring The Forum

jblackann
- 30th June 2006, 16:20
What is the chance of adding some form of a structure to the forum? This would make it a bit easier to try track down information. I have used the forum through the Microchip webpage and have found tons of useful information. The Microchip forum is setup to discuss different topics, so for example, with the PBP pro forum thread could be divided up into different topics such as ADC, different models of PICs, RF, LCD, etc. I am new to PICBASIC and am just finding it hard to find useful information because searching doesn't always work the best.

Any thoughts?

Melanie
- 1st July 2006, 07:48
The Microchip forum is owned by Microchip and managed by Microchip employees getting paid by Microchip.

This forum is owned by Crownhill, an independent distributor of MeLabs products as a SELF-HELP forum for purchasers of MeLabs products. Despite a tiny bit of Advertising, this COSTS Crownhill considerably more to run than they receive in business from it. The Admins give their limited time freely to Administer the forum and we sure don’t get paid or receive any benefits whatsoever for our involvement here.

The forum is used by everyone - not just customers of Crownhill. In fact 99% of the users are NOT customers of Crownhill. Students who've never spent a cent on the products, people looking for ideas, folks who've got pirate software, the clueless who are in way out of their depth... Microchip provide their site because somewhere along the line you'll end up buying a Microchip product. The majority of users of this forum do not benefit Crownhill in any way - and are not likely to EVER! Personally, if I was running Crownhill, any customer of mine would get a password to access my forums... you spend money with me, and in return I'll give you some goodies, but then I'm not as generous as some folks...