PDA

View Full Version : New to AC

schu4647
- 28th June 2006, 22:33
I am new to AC electronics, and I am realizing how much of the world I have missed. There is one thing I am really confused on. I have noticed several threads on here that explain a dimmer circuit. I see that the pic control and optocoupler which in turn controls a triac. What is the reasoning behind the zero voltage detection aspect of it. I am guessing it is timing. Maybe you need to start the PWM signal when the AC line is at zero volts. I don't really see why that is though. I have searched a lot on google and all I can find is that it need to be done, but not why. Hope somebody knows. Thanks.

dhouston
- 29th June 2006, 00:15
Triacs automatically turn off at zero crossing. You control how long they are on during each half-cycle by controlling the point where the triac is turned on by a gate signal. Powerline control signals (e.g. X-10) are usually sent just before or after ZC as that has the lowest noise.

dhouston
- 29th June 2006, 12:20
There's a Microchip App Note that gives a very concise explanation of triacs.
http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/AppNotes/00958A.pdf

schu4647
- 29th June 2006, 13:14