PDA

View Full Version : Please help a new guy get going with a PIC10F222

Quacker
- 27th May 2006, 17:46
Hello all!

I'm new to programming and that means that the least clearly documented area in programming (setting up the registers) has stopped me cold. I'm coding a 10f222 and I can get my program compiled, but it will not run. I strongly suspect that I don't understand what registers I need to set up. So I ripped down the program and I'm simply asking for GPIO.2 to pulse on and off (get the LED to light). Still nothing.

What would be great is if someone would post a listing that DID work and I then could compile and run it. That would confirm that everything over here is working correctly, and who knows, I might even learn something!

Thanks,
Q

paul borgmeier
- 27th May 2006, 22:20
I believe the default Config settings is for GP3 to be used as MCLR (which means GP3 must be tied high). Could this be the cause of your problem?

Although I have never used this PIC, this should blink GP0 at 1 Hz

ADCON0 = 0 ; all pins digital
TRISIO = 0 ; all pins output (except GP3)

Main:
GPIO.0 = 1 ; GP0 = high
pause 500 ; Pause 500 mS
GPIO.0 = 0 ; GP0 = Low
pause 500
goto Main

End

Good Luck,

Paul Borgmeier
Salt lake City, Utah
USA

Quacker
- 28th May 2006, 01:26
I have just gotten the chip to ALMOST work correctly. The only port that I can't get control of is GP.2. This port is shared with a clock that seems to be part of the timer, Tmr0. I can't tell from the data sheet, how to gain control. Perhaps someone can help. I figure that once i'm in control of the ports hat it will be much easier to get them to do what I want. Here is the listing that works. Note that GP.3 is always an input and I don't expect to see an noutput on it. Yes, I did throw the kitchen sink at it, but hey...

@ Device PIC10F222, IOFSCS_4MHZ, MCPU_OFF, WDT_OFF, PROTECT_OFF, MCLR_OFF

tmr0= %00000000
TRISIO =%0000
ADCON0 = %000000
GPIO = %0000

Start:
high gpio.2 'test
high gpio.0
high gpio.1

pause 1