PDA

View Full Version : how to know servo position on lcd?



macx75
- 23rd March 2006, 18:23
Hi all
How do i move the servo by hand and know its position on lcd.? is there any command in picbasic?
macx

milestag
- 23rd March 2006, 20:15
You would have to modify the servo so you can read the internal potentiometer. You will have to at least open the servo up and get some wires onto the potentiometer's pins.

Then use the ADCIN or POT command to read the position of the potentiometer.

But in this case the servo itself just acts as a very complex "knob".

Archilochus
- 23rd March 2006, 22:36
Along the same lines as Jim suggested - maybe hook up an external POT to the servo shaft?

Arch

DynamoBen
- 23rd March 2006, 22:52
The answer really depends on what your trying to do.

Depending on the application an optical or mechancial encoder may be a better choice, in place of the servo. If your trying to "teach" the pic a servo postion and then have the pic repeat that later you may want to use the servo (unmodified) in combination with an encoder wheel to sense location.

Finally you may want to switch to a stepper which you can read from in one mode and send to a location in another.