PDA

View Full Version : Mutliple RS232 devices

Lsalt
- 22nd February 2006, 11:43
Hi all,

I'm new to PBP and PIC's in general .

I have an application which I would like to recieve RS232 data from two separate devices at the same time.

Does anyone know if this is possible , currently I'm using serin2 to recieve data from either device individually no problems but it doesnt work if I try to use serin2 on two different pins at the same time. Perhaps I'm asking too much .

If anyone has any suggestions on how this might be achieved I'd appreciate it

thanks

Gilles

sougata
- 22nd February 2006, 12:39
Hi,

Since serin is a software based UART you cannot have multiple instances. However you can use the hardware USART for one receive (probably interrupted so you know when your receive buffer is having a new data) and a normal serin on the other.

Regards

Sougata

Lsalt
- 22nd February 2006, 13:22
Hi Sougata,

thanks for the response , I must admit doing that never crossed my mind I'm using a 16F628a , it has a hardware UART .

i have used Hardware UART succesfully with a C based complier before however not with PBP hopefully its not too difficult , will read the manuals and see how I go.

thanks

again.

Gilles

sougata
- 22nd February 2006, 13:57
Hi,