PDA

View Full Version : RPM counter

RUBiksCUbe
- 23rd November 2005, 20:11
Im working on an RPM counter for a motor that I need for a project but in order to actually count RPMs I need to get the program to run for a minute. Is there some command that will stop the PIC after a minute has passed?

milestag
- 23rd November 2005, 20:54
How about:

//Set up one of the PIC's hardware Timer/Counters as a Counter

//Pause 60000

//Read the value of the counter

What sort of RPM value do you expect? If it's fast, why not count for 15 seconds and multiply by 4, or count for 1 second and multiply by 60?

RUBiksCUbe
- 23rd November 2005, 21:11
Its a PC cooling fan so I was expecting it to be sort of high. How do I set up one of the hardware timers as a counter? I've never done anything with them before.

milestag
- 24th November 2005, 01:59
1. What chip are you using?

2. Read the datasheet. It will have a section on each Timer/Counter available on your particular PIC. It tells you exactly what values to write to each register to set up the timer as a counter and how to read/write the current value of the counter. You will also be able to set up one of the I/O pins as a trigger for the counter and select rising/falling edge for triggering. Read up on the prescaler, you may need to set that up too.

RUBiksCUbe
- 24th November 2005, 04:09
Im using an 18F252. Im looking through the datasheet and I found that Timer0 uses the T0CON register and on the pin diagram it says that T0CKI is pin 6 (PortA.4). How to the timers work? I've never done anything with them before and I'm not even sure what they do.

G8RPI
- 24th November 2005, 12:08
Hi see my eariler post,

http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showpost.php?p=10458&postcount=6

for some example code.

Luciano
- 24th November 2005, 13:03
Hi,

A simple way to read fan RPM:

A 3-wire fan has a tach output, which usually outputs 1, 2, or 4 tach
pulses per revolution, depending on the fan model.