PDA

View Full Version : Using Microcode Bootloader + CDLite + Hyperterminal

guanerrr
- 23rd November 2005, 10:01
Hi, this is my first post. I'm quite new in this field.

I programmed my PIC16F877A with microcode bootloader and I don't wanna use Microcode Studio Plus IDE. Can I use CDLite IDE and then generate hex file and after that I send the hex file using hyperteminal? Can I do that? Any special configuration needed? TQ

milestag
- 23rd November 2005, 13:35
The bootlaoder software (on your PC) and the bootloader firmware (in your PIC) must work together. So it's basically a package deal.

If you use the pre-built hex files for MCS bootloader, then you will need to use MCS bootloader software to do the programming. Hyperterminal won't work.

You CAN still use CD Lite to edit and compile your code. Then just use the bootloader to load your program hex file.

FYI - I found that the Tiny PIC Bootloader (freeware) works perfectly with PicBasic Pro. I built the same MAX232 interface as shown on the MCS web site. You may have to edit the firmware .asm file yourself though, depending on what chip, baud rate and oscillator speed you want to use.

-Jim

mikeciz
- 23rd November 2005, 18:36
Milestag,
When you use Tiny PIC Bootloader do in picbasic do you use the same "define bootloader=1" in your program, or do you have to insert some assembly code at the beginning of your picbasic code? Thanks

milestag
- 23rd November 2005, 19:14
No assembly required! :)

Just add this line (I put it at the top of the code, but not sure if the location matters):

DEFINE LOADER_USED 1

Same as the instructions for using MCS bootloader.

Also I don't use the "reset" connection to MCLR on my MAX232 circuit. Only the RX/TX lines. Works fine as long as you can cycle power on your target circuit before you start the bootloader.

guanerrr
- 24th November 2005, 01:12