PDA

View Full Version : please read it ( real time)

moud_man
- 12th September 2005, 09:24
hi all

i am not a beginner but something better i have used picbasic pro i found it well but

in my trip with the pic i was choosing between many compilers (and use it some time knowing their adv. and disadv.) and finally i started with pic basic pro it has more and more features

the problem is

i attend to do a clock project and i want more than 98% acc. before using picbasic pro i was using mplab with picc compiler it is great in the simulation and counting time (real time) elapsed so i can calc. the 1 sec interval before i burn the pic

when i was trying do that project with picbasic pro i made all of thing but stops at

KNOWING THE 1 SEC INTERVAL BEFORE BURNING

IS THERE ANYTHING TO KNOW THE REALTIME ? IS THAT IN THE ICD?

please support

thank you

bye

Melanie
- 12th September 2005, 10:12
Are your trying to work out a Second?

Pause 1000

There's a second, but not knowing what you are trying to do makes answering difficult. Calculating PICBasic instructions is NOT the way to go. Different instructions have differing execution times, and even then those times may vary according to other events.

There are several Timer threads on this forum (Olympic Timer is one example) if you did a search.

Bob_W
- 12th September 2005, 12:18
98% accuracy won't cut it for any clock project I'm aware of. That would mean an inaccuracy of around 2 seconds a minute. Take a look at this code http://www.picbasic.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=190 This allows you to time down to 1/100th of a second with whatever accuracy your timebase (crystal) is. This is a hardware solution using hardware counters / timers that are included with many PICs. Much easier, and more accurate than counting instructions.

moud_man
- 13th September 2005, 01:02
hi
1st thnx for repl.

>>>i already have seen that link before i post the thread and....