PDA

View Full Version : Values in EEPROM get erased on power cycle

senojlr
- 6th September 2005, 01:20
Hi, I am a newbie to using pic chips and programming the pic chips with picbasic pro. My problem is, I am using a PIC 18f452 and am trying to store user input variables to the onboard eeprom of the chip. I am using the pic basic pro write and read command and it seems to work OK as long as the chip is powered up. When power is cycled to the chip, I loose the values that should be stored in the EEPROM. Shouldn't these values be maintained since the values are stored to the EEPROM or am I trying to use the EEPROM improperly?

Thanks

mister_e
- 6th September 2005, 04:17
never get any problem with it with all PIC with on-board EEPROM. What about a snip of your code??? PBP Version???

CocaColaKid
- 6th September 2005, 04:37
I use the write and read commands all the time without problems. I use the data command when I want to pre-load the eeprom with known values.

senojlr
- 7th September 2005, 02:50
Thanks for reply mister e and cocacolakid. Below is a snippet of code from my program. I am reading dip switches that I have connected to portc and portd and storing the values in the onboard eeprom when a switch I have connected to portb.2 is on. This code is at the beginning of program after variable declarations and only executes once on startup before program goes into loop. It works OK until I turn the switch off on portb.2 and cycle the power. The value read from the EEPROM is then 65535. Any help that you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

if PORTB.2 = 1 Then 'Check Calibration Switch. If on read Dip Switches
Write 0, PORTC 'Read Dip Switches on Port C and Store Value in
'EEPROM Address 0
pause 10
Write 1, PORTD 'Read Dip Switches on Port D and Store Value in
'EEPROM Address 1
pause 10
EndIf
Read 0, TMTR1KFLO.byte0 'Read Value in EEPROM Addres 0 and store
'in low byte of TMTR1KFLO (Declared as Word)
pause 10