PDA

View Full Version : PIC18F I2C Communication with Arduino

picmilan
- 7th July 2016, 05:16
Hello all,

I read all the I2C related posts but still can't fully understand how to send dada from PIC18F to an Arduino.

I set the address of arduino to 0x26 and try to do following in PicBasic but I don't get any data:

TRISC.0 = 0
TRISB = 000000

LED VAR PORTC.0 ' Assign name "LED" to PORTC.0
SCL VAR PORTB.3 ' Clock pin
SDA VAR PORTB.1 ' Data pin

ADDR VAR WORD

ADDR = $26 ' I2C address

mainloop:
HIGH LED ' Turn on LED connected to PORTB.0
Pause 1000 ' Delay for 1 seconds

I2CWrite SDA,SCL,ADDR,[0]

LOW LED ' Turn off LED connected to PORTB.0
Pause 1000 ' Delay for 1 seconds
Goto mainloop ' Go back to loop and blink LED forever

Any idea?

Scampy
- 7th July 2016, 08:20
Im no expert, but don't you have to send data. All the examples I've seen, and use send and receive a variable after the address, eg to send the value of a word variable

I2CWRITE SDApin,SCLpin,i2cWriteAddress,i2cControl,[variable.lowbyte,variable.highbyte]

I can't see that in your code

Also I think you need to set one device as a slave and another as master, so maybe posting your arduino code could also help those more qualified to comment to asses whats going on

HenrikOlsson
- 7th July 2016, 10:30
The data being sent is the value 0, that looks alright to me though I've literally never used I2CWrite.
Check the pins you're using for multiplexed functions, specifically analog such as ADC and comparators and make sure the pins are set to digital.

Then I'd check the pins with a scope or logic analyzer to verify if data is actually coming out or not - if you don't KNOW, for sure, that the Arduino code is working.

/Henrik.

Dave
- 7th July 2016, 13:24
I've literally never used I2CWrite.
Really Henrick? Wow, I use it all the time to write to serial eeprom's, a/d's and i/o expanders, etc. You should really design more hardware..

Scampy
- 7th July 2016, 17:53