PDA

View Full Version : AC Signal...

Tear
- 6th July 2005, 19:55
Today I am looking at starting a new "simple" project to continue playing with the PIC16F84. What I would like to do is use an AC Power Source as an input and then have the microcontroller turn on a LED for an output.

I am assuming that I need to use the PIC16F84 on chip A/D converter, but I am not sure if this is true as I am new to the microcontroller world and have not played with this.

Any help concerning how to use an AC source as input to a microcontroller would be very helpful.

Thank you,
Michael Schmidt

Melanie
- 6th July 2005, 20:23
You obviously have a death wish.

The 16F84 has no A/D... and even if it did, it wouldn't help you.

The attached schematic might increase your life expenctancy (or that of your PICs). C1 is a 10nF 1kV Disc Ceramic (good for 110-240vAC). It's there to limit the current going through IC1 which is an opto isolator like Cosmo's K1010. D1 a 1N4007 is there to stop the reverse-bias voltage killing the opto's LED emitter. The PIC's pin needs a pull-up to +Vdd, or use one of the weak-pull-up's on PortB. Add your own Fuses (if required and as appropriate to your application) on the AC Input line. 50mA is more than adequate.

The PIC will see a pulse at the frequency of your AC supply. Check for it using COUNT or PULSIN or whatever method you prefer. No Pulse, No AC. I use this method (or variations of it) to detect AC Supply Phase Failure, Fuses Blown etc etc.

Tear
- 6th July 2005, 21:23
After posting this morning I was looking at the data sheet for the PIC16F84 and came to the same conclusion that the PIC16F84 doesn't have an A/D converter. However, even if I went to a pic that did have a A/D converter that still wouldn't do anything for me then? I am not sure how the A/D converter works and I am going to look into this this afternoon.