PDA

View Full Version : Measuring Period & Hz

MaurI
- 4th July 2005, 09:59
Hello!

Ihave following situation:
I must build a LC-meter, I have an Idea that involves simple oscilator circuit but the tough part is to measure frequency using PIC16F628A. Default calibrating frequency is about 1MHz so I cant use COUNT comand and if I could I think that the result wouldn't be good enough because I need percise device. So then I thought about using timer0 but I don't know how to set a certain countig period. Simply I don't know how to count pulses and measure period at the same time. Is it possible? Maybe I am thinking wrong. Maybe you can give me other advices how to complete this task. Please Help ! I'm just learning + I'm at the very beginning of this long process!

Thanks!

isaac
- 4th July 2005, 13:34
I Think You Would Need To A Prescaler

MaurI
- 5th July 2005, 11:09
Yes I can use a prescaler but that doesn't change the situation that I don't know how to set a counting period (THE TIME) Because Frequency is number of oscillations per period so I need to know number of impulses and the time in what these impulses appeared. OK then Is it possible to use Timer0 and Timer2 at the same time and stop them at the same time if yes then how. Don't think I'm crazy or stupid I couldn't find an answer to this one.

Thanks

isaac
- 5th July 2005, 21:40
Hi Mate
i think the easiest route would be for you to use a hardware frequency
divider chip the can divide your frequency down to the Khz range and then use the ccp capture or timer 1 and you should be ok
BTW what frequency range are you gonna use

Isaac

MaurI
- 6th July 2005, 15:36
F range will be around 300kHz to 2MHz

Well I don't want to use hardware f-divider, because I know that this task can be accomplishet without it but I really can't find any source. But if it comes to that there is no choice I will think of something.

G8RPI
- 11th July 2005, 11:19
Hi MuarI,