PDA

View Full Version : Beginner in need of help !!

robbo78
- 15th January 2015, 13:13
Hi everyone, I am completely new to both these forums & pic programming. I am working with the 12f683 which I have managed to flash led 's read potentiometers etc, very basic stuff.

Now to my question. I want to turn an LED on/off with a single tap of a tactile button. So press & release button: led turns on, then repeat to turn led off.

I knio how to turn an LED on/off by holding the button for on & releasing for off, but I can't work out how to do the above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I intend to over come any hiccups, not give up.

Thanks,
Rob

Amoque
- 15th January 2015, 13:27
Not sure how much help you need. I'm assuming you know input/ output, high/ low...

Google "Pull down switch" and see how the level goes from high to low when the button is pressed (there is a pull up as well); use standard input technique to read the level change when the switch is pressed. To control the LED output, I think an if/ then will work well:

If Button press = 0 and LED = off then [turn on LED]
If Button press = 0 and LED = on then [turn off LED]

You should also look at "debounce" as there is some issue to mechanical switches.

Also, without some programming to limit the speed, the switch will turn the LED on/ off very quickly. A pause will work (to give the user time to release the button) or, you can look for a "1" on the switch (released) before allowing another button press to register.

HTH,

HenrikOlsson
- 15th January 2015, 13:30
Hi Rob,
Welcome to the forum! As you can imaging there are several ways to do this (and most other things). Amoque shows you one, here's another (which also tries to take care of the debounce):

LED VAR GPIO.0
Switch VAR GPIO.1

ANSEL = 0 ' No analog inputs
CMCON = 7 ' Comparators disabled
TRISIO = %11111110 ' GPIO.0 as output

Main:
IF Switch = 1 THEN ' If the button is pressed...
TOGGLE LED ' ...we toggle the LED.