PDA

View Full Version : microcontroller vs plc vs 'microprocessor w/ peripherals'

Humbleworker
- 10th June 2014, 17:03
i worked as a technician for a japanese company that shall remain undisclosed but anyway in the machines in their assembly line i saw on a machine that it had more than one plc(programmable logic controller) in it, as well as a computer but with no monitor (machine just interfaced to the computer via a port) and i dont know if it had any microcontroller chips in it.. but anyway i have a few questions

why would a control system need all of these? why cant one control the whole thing? why more than one plc? what can a plc do that a micro or a microcontroller or microprocessor can't? and vice-versa? all i know is that a plc is usually more expensive than a microcontroller so what exactly are you getting for that extra you're spending?

Demon
- 10th June 2014, 19:02
Without more details on the application, multiple microcontrollers can be used in a modular approach. One microcontroller per task; it makes for simplified programming = lower costs.

There are many other advantages: you can replace one defective module, no need for expensive high-end multi-feature microcontroller, easier to add future modules, etc.

I always design in a modular fashion. It's so much easier to program, debug and repair.

Robert

(I have no experience with PLC)

Humbleworker
- 11th June 2014, 11:15
Without more details on the application, multiple microcontrollers can be used in a modular approach. One microcontroller per task; it makes for simplified programming = lower costs.

There are many other advantages: you can replace one defective module, no need for expensive high-end multi-feature microcontroller, easier to add future modules, etc.

I always design in a modular fashion. It's so much easier to program, debug and repair.

Robert

(I have no experience with PLC)