PDA

View Full Version : Speed regulator for sewing machine

Kenwood
- 24th December 2013, 21:56
Hope to get some help or advice.
I am new to programing and trying to learn. This is also my first post.
I am trying to design a speed regulator for a sewing machine used for quilting. The sewing machine is on an X, Y table and I need to keep a constant number of stitches regardless whether sewing machine moves X or Y or diagonally. My encoders on the tacks give me 55 pulses per inch of travel and I feed these signals into the inputs of the Pic. I take the pulse width of each encoder convert the value back to hertz. I took these values of X and Y and do a hypotenuse calculation on them and take the value and feed a PWM output. The Pic works on the bench using signal generators etc but in practice it has problems. There is far too much time delay during acceleration and deceleration. I.e. it takes .65 second to sense a 0 pulse in. This circuit uses a 4 MHz crystal. I tried 20 mHz and it improved but causes other problem. Thanks

' PULSIN Command
' 16F88
' Serial Pulse Width Meter
Include "modedefs.bas" ' Include serial modes

DEFINE OSC 4

SO VAR PORTB.5 'Define serial out pin
FI VAR PORTB.4 'Define frequency input pin X1
FI2 VAR PORTB.2 'DEFINE FREQUENCY INPUT PIN Y1
W0 var WORD
W1 VAR WORD
W2 VAR word
W3 VAR WORD
W4 VAR WORD
TRISB = %00010100
#CONFIG __config _CONFIG1, _HS_OSC & _WDT_ON & _LVP_OFF & _CP_OFF & _CCPMX_RB3 & _CCP1_RB3
#ENDCONFIG

displayloop:
Pulsin FI,1,W0 ' Measure pulse (in 10 uSec)
Pulsin FI2,1,W1 ' Measure pulse (in 10 uSec)

W2 = 50000 / W0
W3 = 50000 / W1
W4 = (W2 HYP W3) 'HYPOTENUSE CALCULATION

If W4 = 0 Then disp ' If non-zero, display
Serout SO,N2400,[#W4]
disp: Serout SO,N2400,[" Hertz",13,10] ' Display trailer
HPWM 1,W4,1500
Goto DISPLAYLOOP ' Forever

Demon
- 24th December 2013, 23:59
What if you tweak PULSIN_MAX?

(See PBP manual for PULSIN)

If you can't speed up the oscillator, I'd decrease the maximum waiting time for a pulse.

Robert